Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Com.android.systemui stopped randomly.

OP Mechayoshi

17th August 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #1  
Mechayoshi's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Hello guys, any help would be appreciated.


My note 3 is rooted on the stock rom. I hadn't changed anything or installed anything new. I cut my phone on and I get that message. I'm unable to run any apps and the message shows up immediately after cutting the phone on. My status bar isn't visible either.

Do I have any options? Since the phones unusable, I can't factory reset. I've tried different batteries and taking out my memory card. The phone literally soft bricked itself overnight.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
17th August 2014, 07:38 AM   |  #2  
micmars's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 10,931
 
6,185 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechayoshi

Hello guys, any help would be appreciated.


My note 3 is rooted on the stock rom. I hadn't changed anything or installed anything new. I cut my phone on and I get that message. I'm unable to run any apps and the message shows up immediately after cutting the phone on. My status bar isn't visible either.

Do I have any options? Since the phones unusable, I can't factory reset. I've tried different batteries and taking out my memory card. The phone literally soft bricked itself overnight.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Running Odin, reflash the tar for the firmware you're running.

If you can get into a custom recovery, you can always push system ui back to system, priv-app via the file manager built into TWRP.

Such behavior is common, especially if running conflicting Xposed modules.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
17th August 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #3  
Mechayoshi's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by micmars

Running Odin, reflash the tar for the firmware you're running.

If you can get into a custom recovery, you can always push system ui back to system, priv-app via the file manager built into TWRP.

Such behavior is common, especially if running conflicting Xposed modules.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

Thank you but what if I don't have TWRP? As for reflashing the tar, I'm not using anything custom. All I have is a full (non rooted) restore file and the file I used to root it with Odin. Would I need to flash one of those, and if I do, would I lose data?
17th August 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #4  
micmars's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 10,931
 
6,185 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechayoshi

Thank you but what if I don't have TWRP? As for reflashing the tar, I'm not using anything custom. All I have is a full (non rooted) restore file and the file I used to root it with Odin. Would I need to flash one of those, and if I do, would I lose data?

If you flashed the stock tar, then yes, you'll lose data and root, but the items in your internal storage will be left intact (pictures, music, documents, etc).

Since you're rooted, if you are able to get into system, then you could download titanium backup to save your call logs, mms, sms, etc, then flash the stock tar again.

Short of that, you could flash recovery, which will trip Knox if the root method you used did not, or, flash the stock tar again and move on.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to micmars For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2014, 12:50 AM   |  #5  
Mechayoshi's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Ok. I restored and the phone worked again. But when I tried to update xposed, the phone did the same thing again. Is there anyway to use exposed without this happening again?
21st August 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechayoshi

Ok. I restored and the phone worked again. But when I tried to update xposed, the phone did the same thing again. Is there anyway to use exposed without this happening again?

uninstall xposed and download the newest version.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
22nd August 2014, 01:14 AM   |  #7  
Mechayoshi's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHurst

uninstall xposed and download the newest version.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk


All is well now. That's what I did a few days ago. Thanks though.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes