FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Barometer, and temperature

195 posts
Thanks Meter: 61
 
By barfingmonkey, Senior Member on 21st August 2014, 05:36 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Whoa, I didn't know our phones did this. How cool!
 
 
21st August 2014, 09:49 AM |#2  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Yeah it definitely has it, but it's not advertised because of how woefully inaccurate it actually is.
21st August 2014, 01:49 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
Donate to Me
More
Didn't know that either, thanks!
21st August 2014, 04:20 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Actually mine works fine. Temperature is withing 1 degree as long as I don't use my phone much, so it doesn't heat up skewing the results, barometer also seems fine, the couple times I checked at airports or from weather channel and adjusting for altitude, it was within couple mbars. At least with barometer, you can adjust it to correct value, if the error is big, where with temperature the main issue would be to keep the phone at ambient, so don't get surprised at error if you kept it in your pocket, or played game. There is also humidity sensor and I was shocked when it showed 100% humidity on a foggy evening, as it should, so that seems to be working fine as well.
21st August 2014, 05:51 PM |#5  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
I haven't had similar experiences with mine, although perhaps not using the phone could provide slightly more accurate readings. I live in a pretty humid area and have found even on the most humid of days it doesn't register properly.
21st August 2014, 06:26 PM |#6  
Frank Westlake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 270
 
More
You must have newer hardware -- I don't think either my 900T or 900V have humidity and air pressure sensors.

Frank
21st August 2014, 06:36 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 327
 
More
I found a sweet app called Thermometer Plus. The reason I like it is mainly the selection of semi-transparent widgets (displaying different sensors). I have the one with temp and humidity (set to update every 5 mins I think) on my main home screen so I use that to adjust my AC, etc. accordingly, mainly to keep humidity in a reasonable range.

Galaxy Sensors is also cool to see all of the device's sensors. It also has a widget, but it only displays the temp.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jazzmachine For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 09:09 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Westlake

You must have newer hardware -- I don't think either my 900T or 900V have humidity and air pressure sensors.

Frank

I bought mine in November so it's not that new, I think all N3 have it, but they don't show normally.
If you check Antutu benchmark under hardware, it should show all sensors.
Androsensor program will show all sensors readings, or type *#0*# on stock dialer, then click sensor, should show all the hardware and if it's working.
The Following User Says Thank You to pete4k For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 09:15 PM |#9  
monkor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DC
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Pete is correct, all variants have it.
The Following User Says Thank You to monkor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes