Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,427 Members 40,084 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Call log not showing the state/city?

Tip us?
 
toshik1
Old
(Last edited by toshik1; 1st April 2014 at 11:50 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2011
Battery Full Call log not showing the state/city?

My Note 3 call log does not show state/city on both incoming/outgoing calls.
To my surprise my wife's unlocked AT&T Note 2 (same Android 4.3) shows state and city!
Called T-M and they want $4 "caller ID" per month for that!
Is there a free application for Note 3 to show the call's origin/destination? Don't need anything fancy just add this simple info to the call log.
 
BACARDILIMON
Old
#2  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 821
Posts: 2,839
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MASTIC BEACH NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshik1 View Post
My Note 3 call log does not show state/city on both incoming/outgoing calls.
To my surprise my wife's unlocked AT&T Note 2 (same Android 4.3) shows state and city!
Called T-M and they want $4 "caller ID" per month for that!
Is there a free application for Note 3 to show the call's origin/destination? Don't need anything fancy just add this simple info to the call log.
No it has to be thru TMOBILE. They control the network



TWEAKED N3
LG G3 D851 BAD ASS
 
toshik1
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BACARDILIMON View Post
No it has to be thru TMOBILE. They control the network
If they do why AT&T phone shows all info?
 
krelvinaz
Old
#4  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 2,306
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Because AT&T controls their network. Different network different rules.
Phone: TMobile - Samsung SM-900T Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Rooted/Stock - QI Wireless
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012) 16gb Stock Rooted - 4.4.4 w/TWRP Recovery
Droid Like Devices: Several ChromeCasts, Amazon Fire TV (rooted)
Link: ReZoundn EVO 4g LTE and HTC Droid DNA Splash Screen Web Generator
The Following User Says Thank You to krelvinaz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
toastido
Old
#5  
toastido's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 509
Posts: 631
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Huntsville, AL

 
DONATE TO ME
Att only shows city/state for non phone book numbers. Tmo's charged package for 4 bucks will deliver the actual name if it can find one (just like landlines), otherwise city and state.

Sent from my leanKernel 2.2 powered stock 4.4.2 SM-N900T
If I've helped you, hit the Thanks! button!

Devices:
2012 ASUS Nexus 7 - KitKat 4.4.4 Stock ROM - leanKernel(grouper) v4.0
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Stock ROM(N900TUVUDNF4) - leanKernel(N900T) v3.8

Helpful Threads by Me:
 
BACARDILIMON
Old
#6  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 821
Posts: 2,839
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MASTIC BEACH NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshik1 View Post
If they do why AT&T phone shows all info?
It like driving a Nissan and a Toyota . it all different.



TWEAKED N3
LG G3 D851 BAD ASS
 
toshik1
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BACARDILIMON View Post
It like driving a Nissan and a Toyota . it all different.
This is an interesting comparison. Let's get a bit more technical.
Since we have similar hardware AT&T firmware version simply shows call info by default? In another words if I had unlocked Note 3 from AT&T (or reflash mine with non T-Mobile firmware) it would show the call info same way as AT&T Note 2 does?
 
krelvinaz
Old
#8  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 2,306
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshik1 View Post
This is an interesting comparison. Let's get a bit more technical.
Since we have similar hardware AT&T firmware version simply shows call info by default? In another words if I had unlocked Note 3 from AT&T (or reflash mine with non T-Mobile firmware) it would show the call info same way as AT&T Note 2 does?
It has everything to do with the provider and not the hardware you are using. T-Mobile blocks the information unless you pay for it. AT&T does not.

https://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-3176
Phone: TMobile - Samsung SM-900T Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Rooted/Stock - QI Wireless
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012) 16gb Stock Rooted - 4.4.4 w/TWRP Recovery
Droid Like Devices: Several ChromeCasts, Amazon Fire TV (rooted)
Link: ReZoundn EVO 4g LTE and HTC Droid DNA Splash Screen Web Generator
 
BACARDILIMON
Old
#9  
BACARDILIMON's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 821
Posts: 2,839
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MASTIC BEACH NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshik1 View Post
This is an interesting comparison. Let's get a bit more technical.
Since we have similar hardware AT&T firmware version simply shows call info by default? In another words if I had unlocked Note 3 from AT&T (or reflash mine with non T-Mobile firmware) it would show the call info same way as AT&T Note 2 does?
Forget what phone you have. Forget at&t. Ur on TMOBILE now and that is how it goes. Either way you pay 4 bucks and still way cheaper than at&t. Nothing can be done by you or a Dev. It is on a network



TWEAKED N3
LG G3 D851 BAD ASS
 
toshik1
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz View Post
It has everything to do with the provider and not the hardware you are using. T-Mobile blocks the information unless you pay for it. AT&T does not.
Did you guys read my first post? I'm afraid not - unlocked AT&T Note 2 with T-Mobile SIM card shows the info - if as you claim T-M "blocks the information" how is it doing that?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes