Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help! Stuck in boot loop after towelroot on stock 4.4.2 Note 3

OP maxh

16th July 2014, 07:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
I bought a new T-mobile Note 3 SM-N900T in mid April, and it came with 4.4.2. I haven't rooted, flashed, or done anything until tonight when I just tried towelroot. I downloaded it, installed, clicked make it ra1n, and it looked like it went fine, said I was rooted. I fired up titanium backup and it confirmed root. Great!

Or so I thought. I pulled the battery to put my sd card back in, powered it up, and now it's stuck in a boot loop. It'll boot up and I'll have anywhere from 5-15 seconds from the time the home screen/launcher comes up before it freezes. Sometimes it just freezes, sometimes it says "Process system isn't responding. Do you want do close it? Wait OK".

I haven't wiped or done a hard reset yet; obviously would prefer not to, but mostly I just want to get my phone working again. What should I do?

Edit: I went ahead and did a hard reset and the boot loop is fixed. I also still have root.

Edit 2: I think I'm going to throw up! I just spent hours getting everything set back up and all of a sudden after launching LBE Privacy Guard the boot-looping started again! ARGH! I have to hard reset and start over again, and I have work in a few hrs...

What should I do???
Last edited by maxh; 16th July 2014 at 12:02 PM.
16th July 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
I wiped the cache and that didn't fix it. So I went ahead and did a hard reset, and the boot loop is fixed. Also, it seems I'm still rooted; at least Titanium Backup says I am.
16th July 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
I was wrong. After the last few hours of getting everything set back up I was almost done, I fired up LBE Privacy Guard, and suddenly it freaked out and the boot-looping started back up! What now!?
17th July 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #4  
toastido's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntsville, AL
Thanks Meter: 586
 
687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Perhaps lbe privacy guard is busted..... considering you keep launching it and having issues every time you do.

Sent from my leanKernel 3.4 powered stock 4.4.2 (NF1) SM-N900T
17th July 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastido

Perhaps lbe privacy guard is busted..... considering you keep launching it and having issues every time you do.

Sent from my leanKernel 3.4 powered stock 4.4.2 (NF1) SM-N900T

LBE privacy guard only caused it to go into boot loops once: just after I got everything reinstalled and setup from the first hard reset. Nevertheless, I'm going to avoid it for awhile, as I can't afford to stay up all night before work again...

I haven't been able to find any other people that've had this type of issue with towelroot; am I bad at searching, or just really unlucky?
17th July 2014, 12:49 PM   |  #6  
konfidential's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Ditch the LBE privacy app
17th July 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
markbencze's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,279
 
3,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
ok bud so take another deep breath and relax. there are two things that you can do. One will fix your issue. First step is to download the stock firmware from sammobile and flash via odin.
if that fixes your issue, next time you root do not try towelroot. it's not really meant for the n3. i suggest either cf auto root or you can do what i have always done and flash twrp via odin and then flash the latest supersu.zip from twrp.

if that does not fix your issue and your phone is still "bricklooping" I suggest you go to this thread and download the brickloop recovery file and flash it to have your phone back

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2507403

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes