Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can I take my rooted Tmobile Note 3 to Verizon?

OP Lucas155

16th August 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I moved to Charlottesville, VA recently and the Tmobile coverage is really awful. Is it possible to take my rooted Tmobile Note 3 and use it on the Verizon network? I know it works on AT&T as I put my buddy's SIM card in and was able to connect to the network, but Verizon has the best coverage out here.

If I have to flash a new ROM or change the radio that's fine, I just need to know how to do it and if it's even possible.
Last edited by Lucas155; 16th August 2014 at 02:14 AM.
16th August 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #2  
rjohnstone's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 124
 
575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
No, not possible.
16th August 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone

No, not possible.

But the Verizon version can come to Tmobile, right?
17th August 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #4  
bipoler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
o_0 a t-mobile device to Verizon. lol I thought questions like this died in 2005

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
17th August 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Fremont
Thanks Meter: 6
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucas155

I moved to Charlottesville, VA recently and the Tmobile coverage is really awful. Is it possible to take my rooted Tmobile Note 3 and use it on the Verizon network? I know it works on AT&T as I put my buddy's SIM card in and was able to connect to the network, but Verizon has the best coverage out here.

If I have to flash a new ROM or change the radio that's fine, I just need to know how to do it and if it's even possible.

It is impssible to use a T-Mobile phone on a Verizon network. T-Mobile and AT&T run on the GSM type of network and Verizon and I believe Sprint run on CDMA which aren't capatible. It doesn't matter if you are rooted or not.
18th August 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by defcon888

It is impssible to use a T-Mobile phone on a Verizon network. T-Mobile and AT&T run on the GSM type of network and Verizon and I believe Sprint run on CDMA which aren't capatible. It doesn't matter if you are rooted or not.

I've seen several instances of Verizon customers using their Note 3 on Tmobile. Just thought it might go the other way.
20th August 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #7  
Product F(RED)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 2,649
 
8,937 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Verizon LTE devices come SIM unlocked for legal reasons (Verizon made a deal with the FCC not to SIM lock their devices in exchange for being able to use LTE Band 13 700 MHz).

Some of their older/"first-gen" LTE devices don't support GSM at all (e.g. Galaxy Nexus). But all nowadays do. The Galaxy S4 and newer support T-Mobile's LTE band. LTE is a GSM-based technology, and people travel as well. So pretty much all of their phones are GSM-enabled nowadays. Same for Sprint (except their phones will reject any US carrier SIMs specifically).

Anyways, the answer is no. AT&T and T-Mobile devices don't have CDMA enabled. And even if they did, Verizon and Sprint don't allow competitors' phones onto their networks.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes