FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Is there a 5.1 Controller mod fix?

166 posts
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Anyone know of a way to restore the buttons to work the way they did in KitKat?

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk
 
 
4th August 2015, 05:31 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hi, I recognize you from the GeForce forums. There is a way, and I can provide that tonight once I get home from work if you'd like. Basically, you'd need the keylayout and keymaps for the KitKat version. Honestly a simple fix, but you'd need root, and need to know where to place them. Other than that, assuming it's the same in Lollipop as it's always been, you should be able to just drop the keylayout and keymaps into a folder, replace the existing ones, and it should go back to normal. I can write a guide for n0obs later tonight. Is that something you'd like?

Also, not that it matters, but my GeForce Forum name is FeFiFoChizzle.

For the NVIDIA button, here's a guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/nvid...utton-t2961672

The file he uses is in the same directory as where the other keymaps also are. If you feel confident, just take all the files from that exact directory on the KitKat version and replace them in the Lollipop version, and it should work fine
4th August 2015, 06:05 PM |#3  
Neoistheone2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tornado, WV
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Donate to Me
More
Oh cool, thanks, yeah a guide would be good.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk
5th August 2015, 06:57 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Prompt Try this out
So, can you try to flash this zip? Make sure you do a Nandroid or TWRP backup first please.
If it works, let me know, if it doesn't work, tell me what happened. If may not even flash in recovery, but if it does, and it works, great!

I may be making a Shield Custom ROM soon, but we'll have to see where it goes. For now, this should fix the problem
Attached Files
File Type: zip keylayout-updater.zip - [Click for QR Code] (315.5 KB, 6 views)
5th August 2015, 11:07 PM |#5  
Neoistheone2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tornado, WV
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Donate to Me
More
Will do when I get home

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk
6th August 2015, 12:15 AM |#6  
Neoistheone2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tornado, WV
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Donate to Me
More
It won't flash in twrp getting "Error executing updater binary in zip" then a path to the zip which i just have it on /sdcard.
6th August 2015, 01:17 PM |#7  
Neoistheone2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tornado, WV
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Donate to Me
More
Another update, I tried to replace the files manually from your zip and the buttons quit working.

Volume and I believe start worked but home, back and the Nvidia button didn't.

I'm gonna try grabbing them from my shield tablet and see what happens and I'll post them if they work, if not I'll try editing them manually.

Edit: the Tablets button layout makes the Nvidia button act as a wake/lock button and the home button doesn't do anything I can tell, back works.

Here are the Tablets files.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk
Attached Files
File Type: zip shield_tablet_files.zip - [Click for QR Code] (45.0 KB, 4 views)
Last edited by Neoistheone2000; 6th August 2015 at 01:34 PM.
6th August 2015, 03:57 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoistheone2000

Another update, I tried to replace the files manually from your zip and the buttons quit working.

Volume and I believe start worked but home, back and the Nvidia button didn't.

I'm gonna try grabbing them from my shield tablet and see what happens and I'll post them if they work, if not I'll try editing them manually.

Edit: the Tablets button layout makes the Nvidia button act as a wake/lock button and the home button doesn't do anything I can tell, back works.

Here are the Tablets files.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk

Okay, I'll try to edit the files manually. If I didn't work full-time I'd be all over this **** lol
I will do my best to finish that up tonight
The Following User Says Thank You to jarjarfinks For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th August 2015, 05:31 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
So, thus far, I haven't been able to get it working. It does exactly as you mentioned and disables the keys. I even make 100% sure permissions were identical to what they were before placing the newly edited files in. Sorry, I saw no reason it shouldn't work, but it isn't
10th August 2015, 11:25 PM |#10  
Neoistheone2000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tornado, WV
Thanks Meter: 54
 
Donate to Me
More
It's cool, you tried your best

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes