FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] Touch sensor randomly stops working

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By SoulSurvivors, Junior Member on 4th July 2014, 01:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi!

For past two-three days I am experiencing this problem. Touch sensor just randomly stops working. Top side of the screen is very very difficult to control, sometimes even impossible. Sometimes it feels like sensor recognizes multiple touches at the same time which results random pages or menus opening and closing.

After short usage with screen up or after long downtime (like when I go to sleep) I'm not able to use sensor at all. I cannot shut down the alarm clock, I cannot answer the calls. I still can use the power button tho.

Now what is the most retarded is that nearly all that vanishes after phone reboot. The only thing that remains is that top side of the screen is still quite difficult to control. For example I cannot open that top slide-bar comfortably. I have to slowly move my finger over the screen in order to do so.


Phone specifications:
Custom ROM: Cyanogen 11-20140702-nightly
sdcard partition type: FAT32
bootloader version: 2.14
Security-OFF
CID: 11111
Custom recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.8


P.S.: tried to re-insall ROM did not help. Phone havent been damaged by any means recently.
 
 
4th July 2014, 01:31 AM |#2  
marknoll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
More
Did u over or under clock..flash a mod to control kernel? That's what it sounds like
4th July 2014, 01:32 AM |#3  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,354
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm assuming you're using the stock kernel? What you're describing is an ongoing issue with the CM kernel, flash a custom kernel (Torched or Bubba) and your problem should cease.

Sent from my Evita
4th July 2014, 01:34 AM |#4  
marknoll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
More
Wow. I never knew there was an issue with stock kernel...what's causing that anyways?
4th July 2014, 01:37 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Damn it..
I'm a newbie with all that kernel flashes. Any How-To for noobs? Guide or something? I have found Tourched Kernel for KK thread (I suppose it stands for Kit-Kat?), but it's quite puzzling for me with all that voltages.

P.S.: What caused such random issue all of the sudden? Have been using CM for quite a bit of time already. Got that issue just 2-3 days ago
4th July 2014, 01:52 AM |#6  
marknoll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
More
Look under Tims sig
4th July 2014, 02:57 AM |#7  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,354
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marknoll

Wow. I never knew there was an issue with stock kernel...what's causing that anyways?

I have no idea what's causing it, I do know that using a custom kernel always fixes it for me though.




Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulSurvivors

Damn it..
I'm a newbie with all that kernel flashes. Any How-To for noobs? Guide or something? I have found Tourched Kernel for KK thread (I suppose it stands for Kit-Kat?), but it's quite puzzling for me with all that voltages.

P.S.: What caused such random issue all of the sudden? Have been using CM for quite a bit of time already. Got that issue just 2-3 days ago

Flashing a kernel is similar to flashing a ROM, if you want instructions just check the How-To Guide For Beginners thread in my signature.

Sent from my Evita
4th July 2014, 04:05 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

I have no idea what's causing it, I do know that using a custom kernel always fixes it for me though.




Flashing a kernel is similar to flashing a ROM, if you want instructions just check the How-To Guide For Beginners thread in my signature.

Sent from my Evita


Meh, I have updated kernel to 3.4.86-Torched-KK.B4.3+
Problem is still here.

Still cant open top slide menu properly. It is just weird, it really seems like some sort of damage to very top side of the screen. But i didnt hit it or anything like that. Screen itself without any visible damage or even scratches, cuz im using screen protector. Gonna see if I can at least answer the calls properly without sensor goin full nuts.

update:

That's definitely a software issue. If i turn the phone around so screen would get rotated that "damaged" area works just fine. What the **** is going on? It started so randomly
Last edited by SoulSurvivors; 4th July 2014 at 04:14 AM.
4th July 2014, 04:42 AM |#9  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,354
 
Donate to Me
More
You can try flashing a different ROM, or rolling back to the last build of CM that you remember being ok.

Sent from my Evita
4th July 2014, 10:41 AM |#10  
marknoll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulSurvivors

Meh, I have updated kernel to 3.4.86-Torched-KK.B4.3+
Problem is still here.

Still cant open top slide menu properly. It is just weird, it really seems like some sort of damage to very top side of the screen. But i didnt hit it or anything like that. Screen itself without any visible damage or even scratches, cuz im using screen protector. Gonna see if I can at least answer the calls properly without sensor goin full nuts.

update:

That's definitely a software issue. If i turn the phone around so screen would get rotated that "damaged" area works just fine. What the **** is going on? It started so randomly

Maybe reflashing the ROM and the kernel would be a good idea. I've had to do that too. Its annoying,but sometimes I had to do that. Good luck.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes