FORUMS

On Qualcomm’s Damage Control: Marketing and Rumors?

The Heated Snapdragon chronicles seemingly see no end, and 5 months into 2015 … more

Xiaomi Mi Note Pro With SD-810 Goes On Sale In China

The Xiaomi Mi Note Pro, announced on 15th Jan 2015, is Xiaomi’s attempt at … more

Project Fi Invites Are Rolling Out

Google is now sending out the first wave of invites to its new wireless service, Project Fi. … more

Vinsic 20,000mAh Ultra Slim Power Bank Giveaway

We have covered a lot of Android Accessories here on XDA TV. Mostly because we realize … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Disable Magnet Lock?

7th August 2014, 06:52 AM |#1  
stab244's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Hi,

I just got my OPO today. One thing I noticed is that if I lay down my phone on my nexus 7 case, the magnets in it turn off my screen. Is there any way to disable this?
 
 
7th August 2014, 07:51 AM |#2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 9,559
 
Donate to Me
More
Don't lay it down on your Nexus case maybe?

Transmitted via Bacon
The Following User Says Thank You to timmaaa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th August 2014, 09:35 AM |#3  
stab244's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Yeah that's fine but what about other magnets. I have no use for the magnet lock so I would find it better to just disable it.
7th August 2014, 01:17 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Karlsruhe
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Donate to Me
More
http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.d...osed.magnetoff

This should work. I didn't know that this feature is supported on the OPO. You need root for xposed
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fabi280 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th August 2014, 05:47 PM |#5  
bud77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near Paris
Thanks Meter: 467
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm not even sure there's a magnet lock on the OPO, it's the first time I hear about that

I tried to move a magnet around my phone, but it never locked

Are you sure it's not the proximity sensor which locked the phone ?
7th August 2014, 05:50 PM |#6  
stab244's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud77

I'm not even sure there's a magnet lock on the OPO, it's the first time I hear about that

I tried to move a magnet around my phone, but it never locked

Are you sure it's not the proximity sensor which locked the phone ?

The N7 was underneath the OPO so no it wasn't the proximity sensor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fabi280

http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.d...osed.magnetoff

This should work. I didn't know that this feature is supported on the OPO. You need root for xposed

Hmm. I guess I'll try that. I usually use ART but haven't really felt the need since this phone is so fast already. Thanks.
7th August 2014, 07:26 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud77

I tried to move a magnet around my phone, but it never locked

Try a rare-earth (Neodymium) magnet, it needs a strong magnetic field to trigger which won't always work with your average fridge magnet. The receiver is located on the right side of the screen in the bottom third.
7th August 2014, 07:41 PM |#8  
bud77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Near Paris
Thanks Meter: 467
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4fseeker

Try a rare-earth (Neodymium) magnet, it needs a strong magnetic field to trigger which won't always work with your average fridge magnet. The receiver is located on the right side of the screen in the bottom third.

I just tried with an ipad smart cover, and I confirm this !

I'm quite surprise no one ever talked about it
7th August 2014, 07:56 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud77

I just tried with an ipad smart cover, and I confirm this !
I'm quite surprise no one ever talked about it

The feature is listed on the product page for OnePlus' own flipcover, see "Automatic unlock"
http://oneplus.net/de/oneplus-one-flip-cover
8th August 2014, 02:50 AM |#10  
stab244's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Just an update. The xposed module seems to work. Didn't turn off like it did yesterday. I do wish it was an option in the ROM. I know some nexus 7 ROMs had the option. Or at least you could set it through a script.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in ONE Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank