Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,370 Members 37,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIXED] Microphone/Ok Google Low Sensitivity

Tip us?
 
xasthe
Old
#31  
xasthe's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 27
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabbotage View Post
So is this fixed in the newest CM nightlies? I cant't seem to find it in the changelog, but the patch says it was merged.
I believe it is fixed in the CM nightlies, but if you are or want to run CM 11s then this flash is needed to get normal 'OK, Google' hotword detection.

Otherwise when running the current version of CM 11s, you'll need to yell or hold the microphone very close to your face.
Phone: OnePlus One
Sorry, I have no invites.
ROM: CyanogenMod 11S
Kernel: Stock Kernel
Be nice, everyone was a noob at some point.
 
winner00
Old
#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,053
Posts: 516
Join Date: Sep 2010
The 2 patch's you need from CM are https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...9f5b0c6da50978 and https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...0b164878a23aaf.

I modified my mixer_paths.xml to include these 2 patches and all is well. Ok Google is working just fine now.
For all things Carbon, check out our website:[ Carbon Rom | Keep up to date with our nightlies by checking the changelog: Carbon Nightly Changelog

Keep up to date by joining our Google+ community: Team Carbon | +1 us on Google+ Carbon on Google+

Like us on Facebook: CarbonRom Facebook | Download the rom on our site: Carbon Downloads


 
XxKINGxX2580
Old
#33  
XxKINGxX2580's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 219
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokorone View Post
After diving into some of the files in the oneplus one, I found some file values that once changed, make the microphone actually strong enough to recognize ok google from an arm's distance away. This is essential for using speakerphone, skype, any recording application, as well as google now. I was tired of having people go WAT ARE YOU SAYING repeatedly.

You will need a rooted Oneplus One with some sort of root explorer.
I used Root Explorer (File Manager) by Speed Software

1. Go to system/etc/mixer_paths.xml
2. Mount system as R/W
3. Open up mixer_paths.xml with Text Editor
4. Scroll close to the bottom of the text, your little scroll position indicator should be about an inch up from the bottom of your screen(no on screen buttons)
5. You will see <!-- Analog input devices --> and a bunch of text underneath.
6. I wasn't entirely sure which mic would make this work so I changed the <path name+"main-mic"> value from 84 to 100. (Play around with the value until you find a sweet spot.) IF YOU GET ENVIRONMENTAL MICROPHONE INTERFERENCE, TRY TURNING THE VALUES BACK DOWN A BIT.
7. Save the changed mixer_paths.xml and reboot your device for good measure

Enjoy your actually functional microphone! I hope that CM11s fixes this in an update shortly. It is not fixed as of July 4, 2014

I AM THE ORIGINAL POSTER
Gabriel Hahr AKA Kokorone

If you want my original Oneplus One forum post, search it up under the CM11s section of their forum. I am not able to link it here because I just joined XDA.
Thanks! Worked great.
 
vladashram
Old
#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Woodridge

 
DONATE TO ME
Great! Thanks so much!
 
avetny
Old
#35  
avetny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,592
Posts: 4,969
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Private Island.
Yes I'm on full stock...mand mic is sucks.
Thank u for the fix
 
AznMTboy
Old
#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2013
awesome.. fix my problem!!!!!!!!
 
avetny
Old
#37  
avetny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,592
Posts: 4,969
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Private Island.
Damn !! Problem solved !
Thank you so much now finally I can enjoy my phone !

(Ps flashble zip working perfect with stock rom)
 
insanimal
Old
(Last edited by insanimal; 13th August 2014 at 03:33 PM.) Reason: I realised I'm making an assumption about what's in the ota patch
#38  
insanimal's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Malmesbury
I hope y'all remembered to take a backup, because it looks like the official ota patch is here and it doesn't like it if the file has been altered...
 
ebhk
Old
#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by insanimal View Post
I hope y'all remembered to take a backup, because it looks like the official ota patch is here and it doesn't like it if the file has been altered...
Yeah I didn't... So now I can't sideload the update, and I somehow can't find the original one anywhere on the Web, anyone care to share the original one?

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app
 
jlevy73
Old
#40  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,283
Posts: 9,203
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks OP, that helped a lot. Made a call to my wife yesterday and she couldn't hear anything I was saying. Changed the value to 84 to 99 and voila, perfecto.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes