Post Reply

[FIXED] Microphone/Ok Google Low Sensitivity

27th July 2014, 02:48 AM   |  #31  
xasthe's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 3
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabbotage

So is this fixed in the newest CM nightlies? I cant't seem to find it in the changelog, but the patch says it was merged.

I believe it is fixed in the CM nightlies, but if you are or want to run CM 11s then this flash is needed to get normal 'OK, Google' hotword detection.

Otherwise when running the current version of CM 11s, you'll need to yell or hold the microphone very close to your face.
27th July 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,053
 
516 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
The 2 patch's you need from CM are https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...9f5b0c6da50978 and https://github.com/CyanogenMod/andro...0b164878a23aaf.

I modified my mixer_paths.xml to include these 2 patches and all is well. Ok Google is working just fine now.
28th July 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #33  
XxKINGxX2580's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 53
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokorone

After diving into some of the files in the oneplus one, I found some file values that once changed, make the microphone actually strong enough to recognize ok google from an arm's distance away. This is essential for using speakerphone, skype, any recording application, as well as google now. I was tired of having people go WAT ARE YOU SAYING repeatedly.

You will need a rooted Oneplus One with some sort of root explorer.
I used Root Explorer (File Manager) by Speed Software

1. Go to system/etc/mixer_paths.xml
2. Mount system as R/W
3. Open up mixer_paths.xml with Text Editor
4. Scroll close to the bottom of the text, your little scroll position indicator should be about an inch up from the bottom of your screen(no on screen buttons)
5. You will see <!-- Analog input devices --> and a bunch of text underneath.
6. I wasn't entirely sure which mic would make this work so I changed the <path name+"main-mic"> value from 84 to 100. (Play around with the value until you find a sweet spot.) IF YOU GET ENVIRONMENTAL MICROPHONE INTERFERENCE, TRY TURNING THE VALUES BACK DOWN A BIT.
7. Save the changed mixer_paths.xml and reboot your device for good measure

Enjoy your actually functional microphone! I hope that CM11s fixes this in an update shortly. It is not fixed as of July 4, 2014

I AM THE ORIGINAL POSTER
Gabriel Hahr AKA Kokorone

If you want my original Oneplus One forum post, search it up under the CM11s section of their forum. I am not able to link it here because I just joined XDA.

Thanks! Worked great.
1st August 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Flag Woodridge
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Donate to Me
More
Great! Thanks so much!
4th August 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #35  
avetny's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Private Island.
Thanks Meter: 1,594
 
4,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Yes I'm on full stock...mand mic is sucks.
Thank u for the fix
5th August 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
awesome.. fix my problem!!!!!!!!
5th August 2014, 03:24 AM   |  #37  
avetny's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Private Island.
Thanks Meter: 1,594
 
4,973 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Damn !! Problem solved !
Thank you so much now finally I can enjoy my phone !

(Ps flashble zip working perfect with stock rom)
13th August 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #38  
insanimal's Avatar
Member
Flag Malmesbury
Thanks Meter: 11
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I hope y'all remembered to take a backup, because it looks like the official ota patch is here and it doesn't like it if the file has been altered...
Last edited by insanimal; 13th August 2014 at 03:33 PM. Reason: I realised I'm making an assumption about what's in the ota patch
13th August 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by insanimal

I hope y'all remembered to take a backup, because it looks like the official ota patch is here and it doesn't like it if the file has been altered...

Yeah I didn't... So now I can't sideload the update, and I somehow can't find the original one anywhere on the Web, anyone care to share the original one?

Sent from my One using XDA Free mobile app
14th August 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #40  
jlevy73's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 1,300
 
9,253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Thanks OP, that helped a lot. Made a call to my wife yesterday and she couldn't hear anything I was saying. Changed the value to 84 to 99 and voila, perfecto.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in ONE Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank