FTC Says Unlimited Data with Throttling Is Not Unlimited

Unlimited data with throttling will no longer count as unlimited. The Federal Trade … more

Scan With Your Camera Using SimplyScan

If you often need to scan documents using your phone’s camera, make sure to check out … more

Hike Messenger Introduces Free VoIP Service

Hike is one of the few instant messengers that broke free from the pack andacquired a massiveuser … more

One Quarter of All Android Users Have Dual-SIM phones

Ever since the dual-SIM phone wasannounced, such devices became quite popular in many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can I Flash another OnePlus' TWRP backup?

OP badjoras

29th August 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag lisboa
Thanks Meter: 8
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hey guys. I just got my second OnePlus after mine fell and got a new one.

I was wondering if I can flash my other oneplus' TWRP backup on this so i dont have to configure all over again.

Thank you!
29th August 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #2  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,174
 
6,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by badjoras

Hey guys. I just got my second OnePlus after mine fell and got a new one.

I was wondering if I can flash my other oneplus' TWRP backup on this so i dont have to configure all over again.

Thank you!

I would say no. I just remember some people doing this would and it replaced IMEI information from previous phone and could potentially screw up your new phone. What is so important that you need to restore for TWRP anyways. A fresh flash on a new phone is the best route to take my friend

We make too much of simply taken the time to restore and reset things on a new flash.
29th August 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag lisboa
Thanks Meter: 8
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

I would say no. I just remember some people doing this would and it replaced IMEI information from previous phone and could potentially screw up your new phone. What is so important that you need to restore for TWRP anyways. A fresh flash on a new phone is the best route to take my friend

We make too much of simply taken the time to restore and reset things on a new flash.


HMMMMMMMM... The OPO only backs up: boot, data, system and cache. It does not backup EFS nor would i check it on the restore menu,
I guess i will give it a go, and see how it goes. already got it backed up
29th August 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #4  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,174
 
6,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by badjoras

HMMMMMMMM... The OPO only backs up: boot, data, system and cache. It does not backup EFS nor would i check it on the restore menu,
I guess i will give it a go, and see how it goes. already got it backed up

Its your OPO I just don't see why you would risk it but go ahead if it don't work can only be mad at yourself. Lol

Still don't see the big deal in flashing ROM and using TB to restore apps from nandroid

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
29th August 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag lisboa
Thanks Meter: 8
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

Its your OPO I just don't see why you would risk it but go ahead if it don't work can only be mad at yourself. Lol

Still don't see the big deal in flashing ROM and using TB to restore apps from nandroid

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk


Done it, it's all good, as expected.

Like I mentioned to you, that whole EFS problem does not exist if it does not back it up from another phone and restore it onto a new one.

Props and thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to badjoras For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #6  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,174
 
6,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by badjoras

Done it, it's all good, as expected.

Like I mentioned to you, that whole EFS problem does not exist if it does not back it up from another phone and restore it onto a new one.

Props and thanks

cool and yeah I know that but I just dont see the reason to take the risk at all. I see so many take shortcuts and then we have a million how do I fix this that and the third threads. Glad it worked for you
29th August 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #7  
DuckMcQUack's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 102
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I was going to say yes even if I never tried it as nand only backs up system, boot and data which should be no problem to copy and paste to a same model phone...you tried it first by yourself so good move

Sent from my Oneplus One
29th August 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #8  
nathlynn22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
1,038 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Shouldn't be a problem part of restoring to stock on some other phones is flashing a twrp backup and stock recovery. It shouldn't be a problem atall
29th August 2014, 11:30 PM   |  #9  
bp328i's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 587
 
971 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
As long as your not restoring EFS your fine. I have done this many times on many different phones.

The Following User Says Thank You to bp328i For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
backup, flash, nandroid, oneplus
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes