Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more
Post Reply

Metro PCS Signal Issue (Brooklyn Area)

OP playya

6th August 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #11  
playya's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,027
 
5,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp328i

I have T-Mobile and a guy at work always rags me since the merger saying I'm on Metro. I live and work in the Tampa Bay area so both T-Mobile and Metro have 4G/LTE service here. A few co-workers have Metro and I always kill them on speed test. In fact some of them need to walk outside just to make a phone call or download something while I can do it all inside without any loss in service.

In fact the guy who rags me is on Verizon and he now shuts his mouth since I also destroyed his speed test results.

I really just think it has to do with Metro.

I agree with you and like I said the test will be done later today but trying to keep him from doing anything crazy till we test. He has to stand in one part of his apartment just to make a call. I would be upset too but then again its a basement....
6th August 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #12  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,402
 
13,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Its probably on lower priority like what playya said to make people switch over from MetroPCS to T Mobile as they're slowly and slowly reallocating the spectrum to tmo.

http://allthingsd.com/20131206/t-mob...etwork-speeds/

Edit: Kinda off topic but found this interesting http://blog.laptopmag.com/tmobile-ph...r-battery-life
Last edited by zephiK; 6th August 2014 at 04:26 PM.
6th August 2014, 04:28 PM   |  #13  
playya's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,027
 
5,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Yea my house in NY was out in Long Island and in my basement there I was still able to get reception and about 20 down speeds while I was there. I even told him to put his phone on Edge but it did not work either. I think/hope a different carrier like T-Mo will solve issue
6th August 2014, 04:38 PM   |  #14  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,402
 
13,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

Yea my house in NY was out in Long Island and in my basement there I was still able to get reception and about 20 down speeds while I was there. I even told him to put his phone on Edge but it did not work either. I think/hope a different carrier like T-Mo will solve issue

Lets hope so too. Looking forward to hearing the results
6th August 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #15  
playya's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,027
 
5,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
@zephiK No luck with T-Mobile and basement. It seems the antenna does not like his basement with MetroPCS or T-Mobile
6th August 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #16  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,402
 
13,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thats a bummer did he try the signal booster? Does he have any windows in the basement?
Last edited by zephiK; 6th August 2014 at 08:12 PM.
6th August 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #17  
playya's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,027
 
5,957 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephiK

Thats a bummer did he try the signal booster? Does he have any windows in the basement?

He ordered it and is waiting for it to come to him. Yes he has windows but still an issue. I see a lot of complaints in reference to signal strength on here. I dont suffer from any of these issues
6th August 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #18  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,402
 
13,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

He ordered it and is waiting for it to come to him. Yes he has windows but still an issue. I see a lot of complaints in reference to signal strength on here. I dont suffer from any of these issues

Same here. The only thing I can think of is that there are a lot of walls and not a lot of windows so signal is hard to penetrate. Does he get LTE speeds as well? Too bad the T Mobile Take Action page is down, it was a page to note down complaints on signal.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in ONE Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank