5,815,214 Members 39,251 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REQUEST] Stock Recovery

Tip us?
 
Sting3r.
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default [REQUEST] Stock Recovery

Hi there, I'm trying to get OTAs while still being rooted, obviously that can't be done without the stock recovery, my internet connection is too slow and has a limited download capacity(and it's shared) so I can't download the fastboot images and get the recovery from there, and I wasn't able to find it anywhere else, thanks.
 
RISHI RAJ
Old
#2  
RISHI RAJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 811
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: yamuna nagar
OTA do not require stock recovery.I updated my phone in twrp.Just be sure just uncheck update cm recovery in developer options

Sent from my One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Sting3r.
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2013
Really? I thought OTA zips can't be flashed through a custom recovery, and I'd like to update my phone without the hassle of trying to find a flashable zip file.
 
playya
Old
#4  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,960
Posts: 5,806
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting3r. View Post
Really? I thought OTA zips can't be flashed through a custom recovery, and I'd like to update my phone without the hassle of trying to find a flashable zip file.
You have to remember this phone is primarily done by a company that has no issues with rooting CM. Also I am quite sure finding the update zip will not be that much of a hassle. Also not sure if you know this but OnePlus One has put out a AOSP rom of there own. How man phone companies do you know that tells you how to root and puts out a rom....
DeBloat your AOKP/CM10 fast and pain free click here
---------------------------------------------------
"Hey if you can type it you can search it" - Google is your friend - Let me Google that for you
--------------------------------------------------
Proud owner of a 1+1 What you know bout dat life!
 
RISHI RAJ
Old
#5  
RISHI RAJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 811
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: yamuna nagar
Finding update.zip is difficult.Its stored in cache folder(not visible),which gets deleted once device is updated

Sent from my One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Sting3r.
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thank you guys, I have decided to use TWRP instead and update manually
 
playya
Old
#7  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,960
Posts: 5,806
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RISHI RAJ View Post
Finding update.zip is difficult.Its stored in cache folder(not visible),which gets deleted once device is updated

Sent from my One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
finding an update zip is as easy as you found this thread
DeBloat your AOKP/CM10 fast and pain free click here
---------------------------------------------------
"Hey if you can type it you can search it" - Google is your friend - Let me Google that for you
--------------------------------------------------
Proud owner of a 1+1 What you know bout dat life!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Recovery? Check. Root? Check. Android One Ready for Lift Off!

Inthe last few weeks, we have been written quite a lot aboutAndroid One … more

Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more