Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Signal status style error any one else

OP jdh10475

24th August 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #1  
jdh10475's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
774 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I like to use the signal status style as text so I know exactly what my signal strength is. When I set this after a reboot am getting system ui crashed. To set this go to settings > status bar > signal status style > and select text. Reboot and see if you are getting an error. The lower the number the better your signal is 80 is really good and 115 is where a call would drop. This setting worked fine until I updated to the latest update.
24th August 2014, 04:29 AM   |  #2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,508
 
15,466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just want to clear something up, -80dBm wouldn't really be classified as really good signal strength, that's average, -51dBm would be classified as really good signal strength.

Transmitted via Bacon
24th August 2014, 08:45 AM   |  #3  
jdh10475's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 78
 
774 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
On LTE with -80 at my house I can get speeds of 50 meg down 20 up. I have yet to see anything better than mid seventies.
24th August 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,508
 
15,466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yeah I'm not saying you don't get good speeds, I'm just saying that -80dBm isn't considered to be very good strength, especially when it's the halfway point of the signal strengths I've encountered (-51dBm to -115dBm).

Transmitted via Bacon
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes