Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,866 Members 51,718 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Way to disable capacitive keys on CM 11S?

Tip us?
 
scott62185
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 962
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Beach, California
Default [Q] Way to disable capacitive keys on CM 11S?

So I'm on rooted stock CM 11S (would like to stay on 11S cause it's running so great and smooth). I don't use the capacitive keys nor the on screen nav bar, I use LMT launcher (which is indispensable, IMO , with this big beautiful phone). One problem, when typing on the keyboard (I use SwiftKey) I often inadvertently hit the capacitive home button when pressing the space bar. Now I know you can disable the capacitive keys on some custom roms, but is there a way to do it on 11S? Maybe with Tasker, but I couldn't see a way to do it. Maybe with Xposed, but I'm using ART (and loving it). Any ideas? Thanks!
 
Felimenta97
Old
#2  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,318
Posts: 7,826
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ribeirão Preto
I don't have the phone yet, but yes you can. In fact, it is, kinda, one of the selling points: choice.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk

 
scott62185
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 962
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felimenta97 View Post
I don't have the phone yet, but yes you can. In fact, it is, kinda, one of the selling points: choice.

Sent from my SGP311 using Tapatalk
Yeah, you can choose between on-screen nav bar or capacitive ones but I am not using either one (again, I'm using LMT launcher). So, the capacitive keys are enabled (specifically the home key as you can actually disable the back and menu key in settings by assigning their short press action to "none") and, again, when I type I often accidentally hit the home key and it takes me out of what I'm doing.
 
Felimenta97
Old
#4  
Felimenta97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,318
Posts: 7,826
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ribeirão Preto
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott62185 View Post
Yeah, you can choose between on-screen nav bar or capacitive ones but I am not using either one (again, I'm using LMT launcher). So, the capacitive keys are enabled (specifically the home key as you can actually disable the back and menu key in settings by assigning their short press action to "none") and, again, when I type I often accidentally hit the home key and it takes me out of what I'm doing.
Disable Capacitive buttons, then disable software buttons with other tools (there is one, but can't remember the name now though) ,???, profit.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk

 
DuckMcQUack
Old
#5  
DuckMcQUack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 445
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Rome
Gravitybox, xposed module

Inviato dal mio A0001 utilizzando Tapatalk
Oneplus One - Recovery: TWRP recovery 2.7.1.1 - Rom: Stock CM 11s - Kernel: Stock - Bootloader: Unlocked

Past Devices: Nokia N95 8 gb - iPhone 4 - Galaxy Nexus - Galaxy S4
 
scott62185
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 962
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckMcQUack View Post
Gravitybox, xposed module

Inviato dal mio A0001 utilizzando Tapatalk
Yeah, I thought of that but I'm using ART runtime.
 
tiny4579
Old
#7  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,177
Posts: 7,787
Join Date: Jan 2011
You can use expanded desktop leaving the status bar visible. The soft keys will show if you drag from the bottom of the screen though.
 
scott62185
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 962
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579 View Post
You can use expanded desktop leaving the status bar visible. The soft keys will show if you drag from the bottom of the screen though.
How do you leave the status bar visible with expanded desktop? Don't think you can with stock CM11S. Plus, when you bring up the keyboard the hidden nav nar automatically comes up with expanded desktop.
 
tiny4579
Old
#9  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4,177
Posts: 7,787
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott62185 View Post
How do you leave the status bar visible with expanded desktop? Don't think you can with stock CM11S. Plus, when you bring up the keyboard the hidden nav nar automatically comes up with expanded desktop.
Yep that's true. It's under the display and lights menu and shows as expanded desktop style. Oh you can turn off backlights and edit the keylayout file.
 
webpatrick
Old
#10  
webpatrick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 904
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott62185 View Post
Yeah, I thought of that but I'm using ART runtime.
Why not go back to Dalvik, ART is not final yet and it almost doesn't make any difference. I tried both but didn't see any advantages of ART just disadvantages of not be able to do some customizations, like you want to do now.

OnePlus One
ROM: Stock - UnLocked - TWRP - Rooted

XDA History
- HTC One X (unbranded)
- HTC Desire HD (unbranded)
- HTC HD2 NL (Vodafone branded)
- HTC TyTN II (Vodafone v1615 NL (Kaiser 130))
- QTEK 9100


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more