Post Reply

Enable 1080p on YouTube for your OnePlus One

15th August 2014, 04:53 AM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,061
 
12,905 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
As of 09/06: Google has fixed the problem and is now showing 1080p on 4.4.4 ROMs. This is no longer needed.

If the problem still occurs, try the suggestion by @DirtyDroidX

Quote:

Delete YouTube from /system/app and reboot. Then download it from the market. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=53

Background Information
I'm not sure if you guys have noticed but with the XNPH30O OTA it updated our phones from Android 4.4.2 to 4.4.4. Thats great and all, but theres something that a lot of us didn't see happen. When we updated to Android 4.4.4, we also lost our ability to watch YouTube videos on 1080p.

By using Android 4.4.4, the YouTube app only grants us the option of viewing YouTube videos at a maximium of 720p even though the video is capable of transcoding to 1080p. This is not exclusive to the OnePlus One but also to other devices such as the HTC One M8, Nexus 5 and so forth (originally saw this thread on the N5 forums but not everybody here visits that forum because they might not own the device so this is more or less a repost to be informative)

You can verify this by selecting any YouTube video of your choice, go to menu -> gears (middle) -> max 720p.
By doing the below the max will be 1080p.

Requirements
* Root Access
* Ability to edit build.prop in /system/ of your choice whether it is pushing it, file explorer, etc.

Procedure
1. Open build.prop in /system/
2. Find the line
Code:
ro.build.version.release=4.4.4
3. Modify this line from 4.4.4 to 4.4.2. It should appear as,
Code:
ro.build.version.release=4.4.2
4. Reboot your phone
5. Go to any YouTube video and then go to menu -> gears -> 1080p should be shown.

How to Revert
When a new OTA comes, you will need to manually open up build.prop and modify the line from 4.4.2 back to 4.4.4 and then apply the OTA.
Enjoy your YouTube videos in 1080p rather than 720p! Hopefully YouTube fixes this but for now this is the workaround.

Screenshots
Last edited by zephiK; 13th September 2014 at 04:13 AM.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to zephiK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2014, 05:53 AM   |  #2  
TheShoxter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 31
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Will modifying the build.prop in such a way where the version is changed like that have any other side effects?
15th August 2014, 06:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,061
 
12,905 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShoxter

Will modifying the build.prop in such a way where the version is changed like that have any other side effects?

Nope.
The Following User Says Thank You to zephiK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #4  
funCrash93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chisinau
Thanks Meter: 301
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
solved

---------- Post added at 08:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 AM ----------

Works w/ MAHDI,

Thank you
Last edited by funCrash93; 15th August 2014 at 06:38 AM. Reason: found answer
The Following User Says Thank You to funCrash93 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2014, 06:39 AM   |  #5  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,061
 
12,905 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by funCrash93

solved

---------- Post added at 08:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 AM ----------

Works w/ MAHDI,

Thank you

Note it'll have to be done again manually when a new version comes out

So weird how Google made it 720p, its either a bug or they went backwards going from 1080 to 720
15th August 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #6  
funCrash93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chisinau
Thanks Meter: 301
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephiK

Note it'll have to be done again manually when a new version comes out

So weird how Google made it 720p, its either a bug or they went backwards going from 1080 to 720

btw, MAHDI OTA works (I guess it doesn't check for that line in build.prop), so as long as I haven't modified any *.mahdi.* related lines should be OK.
thanks, now don't need to worry if smth is not working in OTA


(lol I guess I reverted my phone to Android 4.4.2 w/ just a reboot )

---------- Post added at 08:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

yeah, 4.4.4 was maximum android version, now we have to go Backwards for things to work properly
Google Troll

maybe L's official version si below 4.4
15th August 2014, 06:54 AM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,061
 
12,905 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by funCrash93

btw, MAHDI OTA works (I guess it doesn't check for that line in build.prop), so as long as I haven't modified any *.mahdi.* related lines should be OK.
thanks, now don't need to worry if smth is not working in OTA


(lol I guess I reverted my phone to Android 4.4.2 w/ just a reboot )

---------- Post added at 08:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 AM ----------

yeah, 4.4.4 was maximum android version, now we have to go Backwards for things to work properly
Google Troll

maybe L's official version si below 4.4

Yeah the OTA center only checks for Version and file. All this trick does is just trick the phone that you're running Android 4.4.2 instead of 4.4.4 and for some reason it'll enable 1080p whereas if ur on 4.4.4, it hides the option.

You should go change it to Android 5.0 while you're at it

Hopefully Google fixes this and realize that the OPO and other devices that are affected are actually 1080p devices and not 720p.
15th August 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #8  
funCrash93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chisinau
Thanks Meter: 301
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephiK

Yeah the OTA center only checks for Version and file. All this trick does is just trick the phone that you're running Android 4.4.2 instead of 4.4.4 and for some reason it'll enable 1080p whereas if ur on 4.4.4, it hides the option.

You should go change it to Android 5.0 while you're at it

Hopefully Google fixes this and realize that the OPO and other devices that are affected are actually 1080p devices and not 720p.

curious, if changing that to "L", how will YouTube act?
maybe 4K will work

Sent from my bacon.
15th August 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #9  
funCrash93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chisinau
Thanks Meter: 301
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
 
Name:  1408082742172.jpg
Views: 6121
Size:  104.5 KB


not 4K, but FullHD (aka 1080p) works as well as on 4.4.2

Sent from my bacon.
Last edited by funCrash93; 15th August 2014 at 07:52 AM. Reason: [HIDE]img[/HIDE] :D
15th August 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #10  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 5,061
 
12,905 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
That red just hurt my eyes, 2:08 AM >_>

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in ONE Themes and Apps by ThreadRank