ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tasker or similar apps

OP tEcHsAvY

9th December 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hey everyone. Anyone here use Tasker or any similar app. If so so what are your favorite profiles or things to do with them?
11th December 2014, 12:19 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tEcHsAvY

Hey everyone. Anyone here use Tasker or any similar app. If so so what are your favorite profiles or things to do with them?

Use search
12th December 2014, 08:06 AM   |  #3  
Giocarro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
899 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I'm a long time Tasker user and cannot think using any device without it.

The main thing I use it for are:

- automatic change of audio volumes based on time and location;

- hourly chime;

- missed notifications reminder;

- automatic switch GPS ON/OFF when using maps;

... Other little things depending on specific ROM I'm using ...
12th December 2014, 09:01 AM   |  #4  
BrianDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Thanks Meter: 322
 
2,825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Macro droid is pretty good, A tad easier to setup tasks
12th December 2014, 09:46 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
For me, Tasker knocked me down. I use Automateit Pro, a little bit more user friendly and does the job accurately.
15th December 2014, 11:18 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Navi Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tEcHsAvY

Hey everyone. Anyone here use Tasker or any similar app. If so so what are your favorite profiles or things to do with them?

I am using macro droid. Its really smooth and user friendly. Not as versatile as Tasker may be but it almost serves all the needs with more macros. It was my first purchase from google play.
15th December 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #7  
Gamm86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 241
 
590 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
Only use it to turn volume down when I arrive at the office.
16th December 2014, 01:26 AM   |  #8  
amd-dude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Penal
Thanks Meter: 72
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Tasker and Secure Settings. I use it to:

1) Set ringtone to vibrate between 11pm to 6am

2) Trigger high accuracy GPS when I open waze.

3) Auto rotate only when in the camera, gallery, youtube and a few others.

4) Switch between edge and HSPA (to save battery) i.e. only swtich to hspa when youtube, web browser or app that needs a fast data connection is active.

5) Send emergency SMS to certain people when battery reaches to 10% (hardly ever happens but hey safe than sorry)

6) Switch to car mode (app) when connected to my bluetooth headset.

7) Open up emulator when game controller is connected.

8) When within range of my home town cell tower, switch on wifi, similarly when out of range of the tower, wait 2 mins then switch off wifi.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to amd-dude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd-dude

Tasker and Secure Settings. I use it to:

1) Set ringtone to vibrate between 11pm to 6am

2) Trigger high accuracy GPS when I open waze.

3) Auto rotate only when in the camera, gallery, youtube and a few others.

4) Switch between edge and HSPA (to save battery) i.e. only swtich to hspa when youtube, web browser or app that needs a fast data connection is active.

5) Send emergency SMS to certain people when battery reaches to 10% (hardly ever happens but hey safe than sorry)

6) Switch to car mode (app) when connected to my bluetooth headset.

7) Open up emulator when game controller is connected.

8) When within range of my home town cell tower, switch on wifi, similarly when out of range of the tower, wait 2 mins then switch off wifi.


Do any of these require root?
16th December 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #10  
amd-dude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Penal
Thanks Meter: 72
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I can't recall but I think secure settings requires root, someone correct me if I'm wrong. Most of them don't. Secure settings trigger different gps modes.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes