MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Straight talk?

4th July 2014, 08:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Has anyone used this phone with straight talk? do you need to unlock the phone or will their sim card work instantly?
Last edited by nsh121193; 4th July 2014 at 08:42 AM.
4th July 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #2  
droidzika's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 42.6525 N, 73.7567 W
Thanks Meter: 213
 
837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I'm using my AT&T Optimus G Pro with Straight Talk. Works great. If it's a GSM phone you can use Straight Talk.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
4th July 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
No. Their sim card will not work unless you have the phone network unlocked.
4th July 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidzika

I'm using my AT&T Optimus G Pro with Straight Talk. Works great. If it's a GSM phone you can use Straight Talk.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk

Yes mine is the AT&T version as well, did you need to unlock your phone? I have seen some saying you do and some saying you don't, but most people aren't on it it's just their thoughts. Since you are on, did you?
4th July 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #5  
droidzika's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 42.6525 N, 73.7567 W
Thanks Meter: 213
 
837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
I didn't have to..that's the beauty of GSM phones. Most GSM doesn't necessarily have to be unlocked because most use the same frequencies. Also, I could use my Sim card on a T-Mobile phone, if it was GSM.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
5th July 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #6  
Trotter516's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Cleveland, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
1117
I bought mine already unlocked so I have had no issues whatsoever using Straight Talk. Love getting 4G for 45 a month.
5th July 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #7  
nicklefloss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quick tip if you use straight talk all you need to order i straight talk att sim card. That gives you full 4g... If you use the straight talk t mobile sim you'll only get hspa +. If you have the t mobile sim then you'll need to unlock the phone and then set the phone up for T-Mobile network.
Add there is no need to unlock the phone.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
5th July 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I have the AT&T G Pro using Straight Talk. I had to network unlock mine. I verified this by putting the ST AT&T sim in before I unlocked it just to be sure and it did give me the "Invalid Sim" error. So this phone IS network locked. AT&T's provisioning is different than Straight Talks. So just because it's an AT&T phone and AT&T compatible sim doesn't necessarily mean it will just accept the sim without network unlocking.
6th July 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
I also have the AT&T G pro. ordered the at&t micro sim from ST and inserted and it worked without having to unlock the network lock. In fact on all of the AT&T branded phones i have used i have never ever had to unlock to use a ST sim card that used the at&t network.
In fact if you go to this link http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/portal/home/shop/sims
it will ask you if your phone is t-mob or AT&T and as long as you get the right sim for your phone, you should not have to unlock it.
I did have to edit my apn and follow the instructions in the thread below to get mms working

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761126
Last edited by zrhodes; 6th July 2014 at 06:34 AM.
6th July 2014, 07:47 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I didn't have to unlock my E980, as I used a AT&T compatible Straight Talk SIM. I get full LTE no troubles, but you have to fool with APNs to get MMS, as with most third-party carriers on other carrier's phones.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Pro General by ThreadRank