Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,985 Members 54,175 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Straight talk?

Tip us?
 
nsh121193
Old
(Last edited by nsh121193; 4th July 2014 at 08:42 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default [Q] Straight talk?

Has anyone used this phone with straight talk? do you need to unlock the phone or will their sim card work instantly?
 
droidzika
Old
#2  
droidzika's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 212
Posts: 834
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 42.6525 N, 73.7567 W
I'm using my AT&T Optimus G Pro with Straight Talk. Works great. If it's a GSM phone you can use Straight Talk.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
Device: Optimus G Pro
Carrier: ST
Kernel: STOCK | Recovery: STOCK
ROM: Stock Rooted 4.4.2
Radio: STOCK
Previous: Galaxy Note II SGH-I317 | Nexus 5 | Galaxy Nexus | Moto DX2
VZW 1+ONE OPPO <-- CRAPX2
 
cougar214
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 183
Join Date: May 2011
No. Their sim card will not work unless you have the phone network unlocked.
 
nsh121193
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidzika View Post
I'm using my AT&T Optimus G Pro with Straight Talk. Works great. If it's a GSM phone you can use Straight Talk.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
Yes mine is the AT&T version as well, did you need to unlock your phone? I have seen some saying you do and some saying you don't, but most people aren't on it it's just their thoughts. Since you are on, did you?
 
droidzika
Old
#5  
droidzika's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 212
Posts: 834
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 42.6525 N, 73.7567 W
I didn't have to..that's the beauty of GSM phones. Most GSM doesn't necessarily have to be unlocked because most use the same frequencies. Also, I could use my Sim card on a T-Mobile phone, if it was GSM.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
Device: Optimus G Pro
Carrier: ST
Kernel: STOCK | Recovery: STOCK
ROM: Stock Rooted 4.4.2
Radio: STOCK
Previous: Galaxy Note II SGH-I317 | Nexus 5 | Galaxy Nexus | Moto DX2
VZW 1+ONE OPPO <-- CRAPX2
 
Trotter516
Old
#6  
Trotter516's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default 1117

I bought mine already unlocked so I have had no issues whatsoever using Straight Talk. Love getting 4G for 45 a month.
 
nicklefloss
Old
#7  
nicklefloss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 197
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quick tip if you use straight talk all you need to order i straight talk att sim card. That gives you full 4g... If you use the straight talk t mobile sim you'll only get hspa +. If you have the t mobile sim then you'll need to unlock the phone and then set the phone up for T-Mobile network.
Add there is no need to unlock the phone.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Phone list: HTC Touch Diamond, HTC Touch Pro 2, Samsung Moment, Samsung Epic, HTC EVO, HTC EVO 3d, Samsung Epic touch, Samsung Galaxy s iii ---- Don't know what is next.
 
cougar214
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 183
Join Date: May 2011
I have the AT&T G Pro using Straight Talk. I had to network unlock mine. I verified this by putting the ST AT&T sim in before I unlocked it just to be sure and it did give me the "Invalid Sim" error. So this phone IS network locked. AT&T's provisioning is different than Straight Talks. So just because it's an AT&T phone and AT&T compatible sim doesn't necessarily mean it will just accept the sim without network unlocking.
 
zrhodes
Old
(Last edited by zrhodes; 6th July 2014 at 06:34 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Feb 2008
I also have the AT&T G pro. ordered the at&t micro sim from ST and inserted and it worked without having to unlock the network lock. In fact on all of the AT&T branded phones i have used i have never ever had to unlock to use a ST sim card that used the at&t network.
In fact if you go to this link http://www.straighttalk.com/wps/portal/home/shop/sims
it will ask you if your phone is t-mob or AT&T and as long as you get the right sim for your phone, you should not have to unlock it.
I did have to edit my apn and follow the instructions in the thread below to get mms working

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2761126
 
MilesDerp
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Mar 2014
I didn't have to unlock my E980, as I used a AT&T compatible Straight Talk SIM. I get full LTE no troubles, but you have to fool with APNs to get MMS, as with most third-party carriers on other carrier's phones.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more