Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Change SuperUser client in ROM.zip [OPTIMA-TEAM]

OP skyinfo

22nd July 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #1  
skyinfo's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Kottayam
Thanks Meter: 774
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Hello guys,
Today I will show you a simple method to change Superuser Client - From ChainsDD's/Koush's SuperUser to chainsfire's SuperSU.
I personally prefer the SuperSU over SuperUser.
If you are unsure, you might want to read up on it.
For a basic idea, look here - http://getandroidstuff.com/superuser...t-at-its-best/

So, if you're a ROM dev/porter, and would like to replace, this is what you need to do!

What you need
  • Latest SuperSU and binary - can be found here
  • The ROM you're working on!
  • WinRAR (or similiar)
  • 5 minutes of time!

Instructions
  1. Download the SuperSU.zip
  2. Extract it!
  3. From the common-folder copy the superuser.apk
  4. Open your ROM's flashable .zip via WinRAR
  5. Navigate to /system/app
  6. Replace the superuser.apk from the .zip we extracted
  7. Go to our extracted SuperSU folder
  8. From the arm-folder copy su
  9. Navigate through ROM.zip to /system/xbin
  10. Replace the su
  11. WinRAR will update the archive!
  12. Profit!

In case the above doesn't work out for you, then also copy chattr and chattr.pie from arm-folder to /system/xbin of your ROM.zip
(Thanks to @F4uzan and @-CALIBAN666- for the tip!)

Thats it!
Enjoy!!
Last edited by skyinfo; 23rd July 2014 at 01:26 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to skyinfo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd July 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Nice tutorial.
Seems easy!

Sent from my IdeaTab A2107A-F using xda app-developers app
23rd July 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #3  
F4uzan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Bandung, Indonesia
Thanks Meter: 1,492
 
2,673 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
One suggestion :
On some ROM it's needed to copy chattr and chattr.pie from arm folder

Great guide, btw
The Following User Says Thank You to F4uzan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #4  
skyinfo's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Kottayam
Thanks Meter: 774
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by F4uzan

One suggestion :
On some ROM it's needed to copy chattr and chattr.pie from arm folder

Great guide, btw

Thanks, where should the chattr and chattr.pie be copied too?
I shall update OP!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes