Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,281 Members 51,278 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Use of buttons and Canvas

Tip us?
 
rogerperk
Old
#1  
rogerperk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Use of buttons and Canvas

Not entirely sure what I'm doing here but here's what I'd like to do. I use a Canvas watchface and I'd like to be able to hit the up button and see a weather center app or hit the down button and see some other app. Can I do that with Canvas/Pebble? How would I set that up?
 
Belkiolle
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerperk View Post
Not entirely sure what I'm doing here but here's what I'd like to do. I use a Canvas watchface and I'd like to be able to hit the up button and see a weather center app or hit the down button and see some other app. Can I do that with Canvas/Pebble? How would I set that up?
I don't know about Canvas. I do this with Glance.
 
rogerperk
Old
#3  
rogerperk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle View Post
I don't know about Canvas. I do this with Glance.
Looked at Glance but it was more difficult than it should be. At least at that point in my Pebble life. Ill try it again. How do you do this?
 
Belkiolle
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 51
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerperk View Post
Looked at Glance but it was more difficult than it should be. At least at that point in my Pebble life. Ill try it again. How do you do this?
1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.
 
rogerperk
Old
#5  
rogerperk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle View Post
1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.
Got it! Thanks! Still not sure if this is what I want but its fun to play.
 
rogerperk
Old
#6  
rogerperk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 307
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle View Post
1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.
I've got a screen set up but I can't get the weather to work. Always says no connection. Weather is one thing I want accuracy in.
 
camolito
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2009
You can accomplish what your are looking for with AutoPebble and Tasker. AutoPebble allows Tasker to react to button presses on your Pebble watch. Tasker can then launch a different Pebble app (AutoPebble plugin action) or load a different Canvas watch face. I use this to cycle between 2 different Canvas watch faces with the bottom button and to load different apps with the top button (freeCaddie, Roku remote, or NavMe depending on other variables set in Tasker). I also use the middle button to launch PebbleTasker with a menu tree to get to several other Tasker tasks.
 
ejasmudar
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by camolito View Post
You can accomplish what your are looking for with AutoPebble and Tasker. AutoPebble allows Tasker to react to button presses on your Pebble watch. Tasker can then launch a different Pebble app (AutoPebble plugin action) or load a different Canvas watch face. I use this to cycle between 2 different Canvas watch faces with the bottom button and to load different apps with the top button (freeCaddie, Roku remote, or NavMe depending on other variables set in Tasker). I also use the middle button to launch PebbleTasker with a menu tree to get to several other Tasker tasks.
I am trying to do something similiar. I have figured out how to intercept button clicks from tasker. However, each button press while in canvas leads to a strong vibration. Do you know how the vibration can be changed? Also, how do I prevent canvas from not changing the watch face if I press the up/down buttons? Currently pressing the up button skips track in my mobile and changes watchface in canvas.
Thanks
 
Erovia
Old
#9  
Erovia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 782
Join Date: Sep 2012
Disable every watchface in the Canvas app except the one you are using.
Phone: Nexus 4
ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4+
Kernel: hells-Core
Recovery: MultiROM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tablet: Nexus 7
ROM: SlimKat 5+
Kernel: LeanKernel
Recovery: MultiROM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Phone: Motorola Milestone A853 ROM: CyanogenMod 9.1.0d Recovery: Open Recovery MiniMod by -FuFu-
 
ejasmudar
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erovia View Post
Disable every watchface in the Canvas app except the one you are using.
This is just to prevent canvas from changing watchfaces, yeah? It still doesnt remove the vibration issue. I dont want the watch to vibrate each time i change the song...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MultiROM Ported to the Moto E

Few categoriesof Android development are as intrinsically interestingas the ability to boot into multiple … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more

Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more