Post Reply

Use of buttons and Canvas

12th July 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #1  
rogerperk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Not entirely sure what I'm doing here but here's what I'd like to do. I use a Canvas watchface and I'd like to be able to hit the up button and see a weather center app or hit the down button and see some other app. Can I do that with Canvas/Pebble? How would I set that up?
12th July 2014, 09:37 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerperk

Not entirely sure what I'm doing here but here's what I'd like to do. I use a Canvas watchface and I'd like to be able to hit the up button and see a weather center app or hit the down button and see some other app. Can I do that with Canvas/Pebble? How would I set that up?

I don't know about Canvas. I do this with Glance.
12th July 2014, 08:23 PM   |  #3  
rogerperk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle

I don't know about Canvas. I do this with Glance.

Looked at Glance but it was more difficult than it should be. At least at that point in my Pebble life. Ill try it again. How do you do this?
13th July 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerperk

Looked at Glance but it was more difficult than it should be. At least at that point in my Pebble life. Ill try it again. How do you do this?

1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.
13th July 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #5  
rogerperk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle

1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.

Got it! Thanks! Still not sure if this is what I want but its fun to play.
14th July 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #6  
rogerperk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belkiolle

1. Open the Glance phone app.
2. Click on Customize Watch.
3. Scroll to the bottom to the Button Mapping section.
4. There are four button press mapping options there. Set them to whatever app you want that has Glance support.

You can also set a single custom app launch if you have the app's UUID.

I've got a screen set up but I can't get the weather to work. Always says no connection. Weather is one thing I want accuracy in.
17th July 2014, 09:51 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
You can accomplish what your are looking for with AutoPebble and Tasker. AutoPebble allows Tasker to react to button presses on your Pebble watch. Tasker can then launch a different Pebble app (AutoPebble plugin action) or load a different Canvas watch face. I use this to cycle between 2 different Canvas watch faces with the bottom button and to load different apps with the top button (freeCaddie, Roku remote, or NavMe depending on other variables set in Tasker). I also use the middle button to launch PebbleTasker with a menu tree to get to several other Tasker tasks.
30th July 2014, 10:06 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by camolito

You can accomplish what your are looking for with AutoPebble and Tasker. AutoPebble allows Tasker to react to button presses on your Pebble watch. Tasker can then launch a different Pebble app (AutoPebble plugin action) or load a different Canvas watch face. I use this to cycle between 2 different Canvas watch faces with the bottom button and to load different apps with the top button (freeCaddie, Roku remote, or NavMe depending on other variables set in Tasker). I also use the middle button to launch PebbleTasker with a menu tree to get to several other Tasker tasks.

I am trying to do something similiar. I have figured out how to intercept button clicks from tasker. However, each button press while in canvas leads to a strong vibration. Do you know how the vibration can be changed? Also, how do I prevent canvas from not changing the watch face if I press the up/down buttons? Currently pressing the up button skips track in my mobile and changes watchface in canvas.
Thanks
30th July 2014, 12:36 PM   |  #9  
Erovia's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 247
 
788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Disable every watchface in the Canvas app except the one you are using.
31st July 2014, 07:26 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erovia

Disable every watchface in the Canvas app except the one you are using.

This is just to prevent canvas from changing watchfaces, yeah? It still doesnt remove the vibration issue. I dont want the watch to vibrate each time i change the song...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Pebble by ThreadRank