Post Reply

enabling swap

OP ddalex

24th July 2014, 12:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Just to let you know that Razr I works beautifully with ZRAM swap enabled !

Moto Razr I comes with a 1G of RAM, but sometimes that is not enough. The Linux kernel uses swap space even if there is a lot of memory to page out allocated but rarely used pages, and move instead disk cache into memory.

I enabled a 256Mb ZRAM swap, and the difference in device responsivness is impressive - I can switch between applications with no lag, I get no freezes, and I'm happy with it.

To enable this, I sent a pull request to the Gamma kernel: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2217725

You will need to flash the next kernel image after the change is merged.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddalex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th July 2014, 02:11 PM   |  #2  
paulle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 169
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
swap
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddalex

Just to let you know that Razr I works beautifully with ZRAM swap enabled !

Moto Razr I comes with a 1G of RAM, but sometimes that is not enough. The Linux kernel uses swap space even if there is a lot of memory to page out allocated but rarely used pages, and move instead disk cache into memory.

I enabled a 256Mb ZRAM swap, and the difference in device responsivness is impressive - I can switch between applications with no lag, I get no freezes, and I'm happy with it.

To enable this, I sent a pull request to the Gamma kernel: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2217725

You will need to flash the next kernel image after the change is merged.

A noob question: Is this similar to the swap partition in linux?
The Following User Says Thank You to paulle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulle

A noob question: Is this similar to the swap partition in linux?

It's a different beast.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1851991
The Following User Says Thank You to adddaamo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th July 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 18
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Can you post a tutorial?
The Following User Says Thank You to godoy.rafa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th July 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddalex

Just to let you know that Razr I works beautifully with ZRAM swap enabled !

Moto Razr I comes with a 1G of RAM, but sometimes that is not enough. The Linux kernel uses swap space even if there is a lot of memory to page out allocated but rarely used pages, and move instead disk cache into memory.

I enabled a 256Mb ZRAM swap, and the difference in device responsivness is impressive - I can switch between applications with no lag, I get no freezes, and I'm happy with it.

To enable this, I sent a pull request to the Gamma kernel: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2217725

You will need to flash the next kernel image after the change is merged.

I've enabled it also, it didn't help too much. Try to switch between Chrome and Skype and Hangouts, each time each app is killed. Memory management in Android sucks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes