FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

CWM recovery 6.0.4.4?

28 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By SoulEater-, Junior Member on 16th July 2014, 03:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone,

I'm having problems when I'm trying to install 4.4 roms I keep getting this error

Quote:

set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E:Error in/sdcard/cyanaosp-v3.4.0_2.zip
(Status 7)
Installation aborted

After looking into it most people say it's cause by old cwm version. However I couldn't find a newer version of cwm for my vibrant.

I currently have semaphore cwm recovery v6.0.3.8

Please help
Last edited by SoulEater-; 16th July 2014 at 03:14 AM.
 
 
20th July 2014, 12:41 AM |#2  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 888
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoulEater-

Hello everyone,

I'm having problems when I'm trying to install 4.4 roms I keep getting this error



After looking into it most people say it's cause by old cwm version. However I couldn't find a newer version of cwm for my vibrant.

I currently have semaphore cwm recovery v6.0.3.8

Please help

Have you tried reflashing right after that error? Please do so. Worked here.
CWM version doesn't have to do much if at all with this if you are above 6.0.0.0. Sometimes I use a March 2014 kernel (Semaphore) which has an older CWM (still above 6.0) and everything flashes just fine.
30th July 2014, 07:18 PM |#3  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator Liaison & RC/RT Committee - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Flag Immersed in Dark Matter
Thanks Meter: 11,896
 
More
@nirogu325

Quick question for you that I didn't want to put in the CM11 thread. I have my old Vibrant that I gave to my son and it has Slim 4.3 build 1, Semaphore and CWM 6.0.3.8 on it. I wanted to put him on CM11 but when I flash it I get a Status 7. Normally, I know how to get around this but for some reason it is not letting me flash it because it says that my device is a I-9000. I've checked Settings>About Phone and it shows T959 and I've even checked my build.prop and nowhere does it say I-9000. The only thing that I have from the I-9000 is the GB Bootloaders.

Any ideas?
30th July 2014, 07:58 PM |#4  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 888
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody

@nirogu325

Quick question for you that I didn't want to put in the CM11 thread. I have my old Vibrant that I gave to my son and it has Slim 4.3 build 1, Semaphore and CWM 6.0.3.8 on it. I wanted to put him on CM11 but when I flash it I get a Status 7. Normally, I know how to get around this but for some reason it is not letting me flash it because it says that my device is a I-9000. I've checked Settings>About Phone and it shows T959 and I've even checked my build.prop and nowhere does it say I-9000. The only thing that I have from the I-9000 is the GB Bootloaders.

Any ideas?

Status 7 sometimes tends to be the assert lines inside the ROM .zip. Check inside the zip (I use 7Zip on my PC): META-INF > com > google > android > updater-script. Check in that script (I use Notepad++ on my PC) the first lines. In the picture I attached, I show you an example of the assert lines. Delete those if present. If that doesn't yield resuls, it could be the GB Bootloader. Although I could flash the newer CM builds with them by deleting the assert lines I showed you. I no longer have the GB Bootloader, so I had to flash my way through JFD to ICS and then to KK again.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG - [Click for QR Code] (59.7 KB, 60 views)
Last edited by nirogu325; 30th July 2014 at 08:03 PM. Reason: Picture attached for clarification.
The Following User Says Thank You to nirogu325 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2014, 09:39 PM |#5  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator Liaison & RC/RT Committee - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Flag Immersed in Dark Matter
Thanks Meter: 11,896
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nirogu325

Status 7 sometimes tends to be the assert lines inside the ROM .zip. Check inside the zip (I use 7Zip on my PC): META-INF > com > google > android > updater-script. Check in that script (I use Notepad++ on my PC) the first lines. In the picture I attached, I show you an example of the assert lines. Delete those if present. If that doesn't yield resuls, it could be the GB Bootloader. Although I could flash the newer CM builds with them by deleting the assert lines I showed you. I no longer have the GB Bootloader, so I had to flash my way through JFD to ICS and then to KK again.

I just did it in Root Explorer. Anyways what I did was I deleted those Assert lines, rezipped it up and flashed. Got a failure due to partition errors (probably because for some reason it was still reading as an I-9000) and said if I wanted to continue to reflash the package. So I flashed my "rebuilt" package and gapps. Was faced with the Set-Up Wizard FC issue, so I thought that maybe I would try to reflash the unaltered CM11 zip to see if it fixed it (before I searched for the solution). It went through the first time with no errors. Still have the Set-Up FC issue, but once I get in my house where there is wifi (no sim in this phone), I can fix that right up, cause I know how to use the search function.

Anyways, thanks for your help. If it came down to it, I would have flashed the Froyo BLs, but this was just as easy. If the next time the ROM updates and I can't get past that, I may have to flash them but I doubt it since I "sort of" tested that philosophy with my reflash from above.
The Following User Says Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2014, 09:47 PM |#6  
nirogu325's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 888
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody

I just did it in Root Explorer. Anyways what I did was I deleted those Assert lines, rezipped it up and flashed. Got a failure due to partition errors (probably because for some reason it was still reading as an I-9000) and said if I wanted to continue to reflash the package. So I flashed my "rebuilt" package and gapps. Was faced with the Set-Up Wizard FC issue, so I thought that maybe I would try to reflash the unaltered CM11 zip to see if it fixed it (before I searched for the solution). It went through the first time with no errors. Still have the Set-Up FC issue, but once I get in my house where there is wifi (no sim in this phone), I can fix that right up, cause I know how to use the search function.

Anyways, thanks for your help. If it came down to it, I would have flashed the Froyo BLs, but this was just as easy. If the next time the ROM updates and I can't get past that, I may have to flash them but I doubt it since I "sort of" tested that philosophy with my reflash from above.

The Setup Wizard FC only occurs if you flash everything at once (ROM + GApps). It's been happening since 4.4.4 was released a month ago. To bypass that you either:

1. Lower the notification panel and press the date on the upper left side. Calendar should open prompting you to enter your Google credentials along with Wi-Fi if not connected. Do so, then tap Back until you go back to the Setup Wizard. No more FC.

OR

2. Flash the ROM alone without GApps. Let it settle for 10 minutes after boot. Then you proceed to flash everything else.
The Following User Says Thank You to nirogu325 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes