Post Reply

My Vibrant turns off with a tap

OP LiquidPlatinum

8th July 2014, 01:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
So one day my phone decides to not turn on. No clue what happens, pull it off the charger, then nothing. I try to flash stock hoping that would help but it would go into download mode or even acknowledge the fact that it's plugged in. After repetitively removing and putting back in the battery then plugging it in to get into download mode, I finally do it. I think the very first time I flashed to stock it just turned off halfway through. I kept flashing stock a bunch until it finally worked. I boot up, but it won't complete a full boot. I flashed stock again and here I am. It is perfectly capable of making a full boot, but tapping it with a medium amount of force immediately shuts off the phone. I checked and cleaned the battery contacts- nothing. But that was the only cause I could think of. I've tried other batteries and it's the same. I don't know what to do. I don't know why it's doing this. Any ideas? What can I do to fix it?
10th July 2014, 10:21 AM   |  #2  
dzee206's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 601
 
895 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
maybe a wire or some thing to do with you're power button has came loose.

Sent from my Half Baked Vibrant
10th July 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzee206

maybe a wire or some thing to do with you're power button has came loose.

Sent from my Half Baked Vibrant

Power button? Why would losing connection to the power button make it turn off?
10th July 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #4  
dzee206's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 601
 
895 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidPlatinum

Power button? Why would losing connection to the power button make it turn off?

that actually happened to me a few years ago with my webos device.i'm just guessing what could be wrong, some thing had to have come loose or gone faulty...
10th July 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzee206

that actually happened to me a few years ago with my webos device.i'm just guessing what could be wrong, some thing had to have come loose or gone faulty...

How would I check for that? I've taken it apart many times. I took it apart recently as well, and everything seemed fine
11th July 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #6  
dzee206's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 601
 
895 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I would check to make sure everything is plugged in securely and if possible adb logcat while tapping the screen to see what the out put of the log. it may take a while to pin point the problem but honestly I don't remember how I fixed that issue its been so long I forgot.

Sent from my Half Baked Vibrant
11th July 2014, 11:53 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 3
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzee206

I would check to make sure everything is plugged in securely and if possible adb logcat while tapping the screen to see what the out put of the log. it may take a while to pin point the problem but honestly I don't remember how I fixed that issue its been so long I forgot.

Sent from my Half Baked Vibrant

Will do. I'll let you know what I find

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes