Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,776 Members 53,555 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nvidia Shield Tablet with XBMC

Tip us?
 
mejdam
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 258
Join Date: May 2008
Default Nvidia Shield Tablet with XBMC

Got XBMC installed on my nvidia shield tablet but does anyone know if there is a way to get DTS or Dobly Digital bypass to work?
 
Francky_B
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mejdam View Post
Got XBMC installed on my nvidia shield tablet but does anyone know if there is a way to get DTS or Dobly Digital bypass to work?
I too hope someone has a solution for this, I was really pissed off when I realize that the tablet could only output Stereo.

Why make a tablet that can double as a Console/Media Station and not support DTS or Surround.
 
shepo71
Old
#3  
shepo71's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hull
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francky_B View Post
I too hope someone has a solution for this, I was really pissed off when I realize that the tablet could only output Stereo.

Why make a tablet that can double as a Console/Media Station and not support DTS or Surround.
i was thinking about getting one, but if it cannot do DTS, then there is no hope for DTS-HD then
 
colman1982
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Jul 2010
Streaming to plex gives also only stereo out. Very bad.
 
demo23019
Old
(Last edited by demo23019; 11th September 2014 at 02:42 PM.)
#5  
demo23019's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 612
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Dec 2007
This is typical with nvidia its same when using hdmi on their desktop GPU's

Just search online nvidia HDMI 2 channel

Might want to bring it up on their forum

https://forums.geforce.com/default/b...shield-tablet/

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium
HTC Hermes
HTC Touch Diamond
HTC Nexus One
Samsung Vibrant

__________________

http://i.imgur.com/hxgQgq6.png
 
huckjam
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota

 
DONATE TO ME
Ahhh for real I just got a shield tablet lastnight and im running XBMCHUB install right now so I didnt get a chance to try it yet. But I cant believ this wont be fixed soon even ouya updated to allow passthru a few OTA's ago and nvidia is sooooooo much more capable then ouya. Ill keep my fingers crossed, otherwise im loving this tablet. But my favorite part of a new device is always the initial setup/tryout phase I think I have more fun optimizing and solving problems then I do actually using these things.
 
Francky_B
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2014
I tried brining this up on the forum, but a lot of people defended Nvidia saying it was the App developers fault?!

Saying the fault lied with Netflix, Plex and others. Even though these apps work fine on other devices...

One person claims he was able to get it to work with MX Player.
I have a hard time believe that, as I've also tried MX Player, with AC 3 and DTS file, none of them worked.

Could there be some truth to this? If the Tablet manufacturer decided to cheap out an not included hardware decoding for AC 3 and DTS, could Software manufacturer patch it in software?

Though, since I paid 300$ for the damn tablet, I don't see why it would be up to every damn app manufacturer to have to pay for the DTS and AC 3 license and could see why they would never do...

Perhaps if my tablet is rooted, I could install something to cheat this...
 
mejdam
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 258
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francky_B View Post
I tried brining this up on the forum, but a lot of people defended Nvidia saying it was the App developers fault?!

Saying the fault lied with Netflix, Plex and others. Even though these apps work fine on other devices...

One person claims he was able to get it to work with MX Player.
I have a hard time believe that, as I've also tried MX Player, with AC 3 and DTS file, none of them worked.

Could there be some truth to this? If the Tablet manufacturer decided to cheap out an not included hardware decoding for AC 3 and DTS, could Software manufacturer patch it in software?

Though, since I paid 300$ for the damn tablet, I don't see why it would be up to every damn app manufacturer to have to pay for the DTS and AC 3 license and could see why they would never do...

Perhaps if my tablet is rooted, I could install something to cheat this...
i dont belive there is, i belive its a license the nvidia may not want to pay.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more