[How to] get full ubuntu and your favorite desktop in webtop

Search This thread
Sep 20, 2010
18
0
Leslie, Michigan
Shortcuts

Thanks for the guide! I followed it exactly and it works, almost. I can't get into the terminal after getting into webtop. Ctrl+Alt+T doesn't do anything for me, and so I can't get into the terminal to do what I want to do =) What am I doing wrong?
 

jimbridgman

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2007
2,345
3,069
Dallas, TX
Thanks for the guide! I followed it exactly and it works, almost. I can't get into the terminal after getting into webtop. Ctrl+Alt+T doesn't do anything for me, and so I can't get into the terminal to do what I want to do =) What am I doing wrong?


Ok, I need you to run the following commands so I can see where it might have failed.

Run the following commands from a shell / command line, then post them back here.

Code:
adb shell
su
cd /data/local
busybox df -h | grep -i osh
/sbin/fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0 | /system/bin/grep Linux
ls -l /system/bin/mountosh
ls -l /system/bin/mountosh.orig
 

jahuang

Member
Feb 23, 2010
19
0
Shenzhen
Hello Jim, Happy new year!

When the fastboot files comes out,

[Fastboot Files] Gingerbread 2.3.5 for ATRIX 2 MB865 AT&T USA [Fastboot Files]

I flash my phone and re-do the script in post 1 step by step, when script finished as usual, no error out, but when you plug into the HD dock, and press ctrl+alt+T, you will get the message that means no terminal.

Then I follow your command as post #72, then I can find the terminal, but the other question is something seems wrong with below.

Code:
adas@localhost:/data/home/adas$ sudo apt-get install chromium
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:  chromium-bsu chromium-bsu-data libalut0 libglc0 libglewmx1.5 libglpng  libglu1-mesa libopenal1 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl1.2debian libsdl1.2debian-alsa  ttf-uralicSuggested packages:  libportaudio2
The following NEW packages will be installed:  chromium chromium-bsu chromium-bsu-data libalut0 libglc0 libglewmx1.5  libglpng libglu1-mesa libopenal1 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl1.2debian  libsdl1.2debian-alsa ttf-uralic0 upgraded, 13 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/2,855kB of archives.
After this operation, 5,841kB of additional disk space will be used.Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
[COLOR="Blue"][B]dpkg: cannot scan updates directory `/var/lib/dpkg/updates/': No such file or directory[/B][/COLOR]
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)
adas@localhost:/data/home/adas$
 

jimbridgman

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2007
2,345
3,069
Dallas, TX
Hello Jim, Happy new year!

When the fastboot files comes out,

[Fastboot Files] Gingerbread 2.3.5 for ATRIX 2 MB865 AT&T USA [Fastboot Files]

I flash my phone and re-do the script in post 1 step by step, when script finished as usual, no error out, but when you plug into the HD dock, and press ctrl+alt+T, you will get the message that means no terminal.

Then I follow your command as post #72, then I can find the terminal, but the other question is something seems wrong with below.

Code:
adas@localhost:/data/home/adas$ sudo apt-get install chromium
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:  chromium-bsu chromium-bsu-data libalut0 libglc0 libglewmx1.5 libglpng  libglu1-mesa libopenal1 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl1.2debian libsdl1.2debian-alsa  ttf-uralicSuggested packages:  libportaudio2
The following NEW packages will be installed:  chromium chromium-bsu chromium-bsu-data libalut0 libglc0 libglewmx1.5  libglpng libglu1-mesa libopenal1 libsdl-image1.2 libsdl1.2debian  libsdl1.2debian-alsa ttf-uralic0 upgraded, 13 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/2,855kB of archives.
After this operation, 5,841kB of additional disk space will be used.Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
[COLOR=Blue][B]dpkg: cannot scan updates directory `/var/lib/dpkg/updates/': No such file or directory[/B][/COLOR]
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)
adas@localhost:/data/home/adas$


Easy the directory is not there, that is easy to fix.... remember the script bailed because the very first time you ran it, it did not see your ext3 partition, so you will have to create it manually, with the following:

Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o remount, rw /
mkdir /var/lib/dpkg/updates
mount -o remount, ro /

Now all you have to do is mount / rw EVERY time you reboot your phone, or certain things will not work, such as installing packages, like you just saw.

to do this after every boot, install the terminal application from the market, and run this in the terminal app after EVERY reboot:

Code:
su
mount -o remount, rw /
 
  • Like
Reactions: jahuang

jahuang

Member
Feb 23, 2010
19
0
Shenzhen
It's ok. Thanks!

Little question, can we change the source list in this ubuntu? It's so slowly in updating.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA App
 

Deliberate

Senior Member
Jan 16, 2012
2,004
3,293
CA
Could add this mod already completed on the next supercharged v5? That would be awesome if it was included in the rom!
 

jimbridgman

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2007
2,345
3,069
Dallas, TX
Could add this mod already completed on the next supercharged v5? That would be awesome if it was included in the rom!

I could give the script to lfaber06, to include it, but you will still have to run it on the phone afterward, because it actually needs to copy your webtop partition to your sdcard, then modify the files on the sdcard. You will still have to partition your sdcard as well.

He does have the mount script, so if you do this mod, it should still work with his rom, since this moves webtop to the sdcard.

I will get with lfaber06 and see if maybe we can have the install script run the webtop hack during the rom flash. You will still need to partition your sdcard though.


Jim


Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
 

Deliberate

Senior Member
Jan 16, 2012
2,004
3,293
CA
If its not to much to ask. Can we put this into v5 of lfabers supercharged rom? That way no one screws it up."cough cough" me... lol!
 

tallnerd1985

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2008
341
45
Vancouver, WA
Hey jimbridgman, nice guide you have here. It looks very similar to the guide written in the Motorola Bionic section :)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 

jimbridgman

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2007
2,345
3,069
Dallas, TX
Thanks, that means alot!

I learned a lot of it from your post and a few others. Then I modified the steps to get it all to work on our phone, and made the shell wrapper for it.

Jim

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
 
Last edited:

tallnerd1985

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2008
341
45
Vancouver, WA
Thanks, that means alot!

I learned a lot of it from your post and a few others. Then I modified the steps to get it all to work on our phone, and made the shell wrapper for it.

Jim

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium

Nice,

Glad to see the same method works on your phones. Can't wait to see Ubuntu for Android does as far as GPU acceleration goes within the WebBuntu environment like they demo'ed on the video.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 

jimbridgman

Senior Member
Dec 21, 2007
2,345
3,069
Dallas, TX
Nice,

Glad to see the same method works on your phones. Can't wait to see Ubuntu for Android does as far as GPU acceleration goes within the WebBuntu environment like they demo'ed on the video.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

Oh I know, ubuntu is it right now for Linux. Sort of how redhat was in 90s, but they are all pro now (rehat that is).... I can't wait to see what Ubuntu turns up with for the andriod distro. It looks promising

Jim

Sent from my MB865 using xda premium
 
Last edited:

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 16
    Ok, Today I will show how to fully unlock the webtop feature in the Atrix 2, so that you can use your favorite Linux apps and desktop, to be more productive while using webtop.

    This will be in several posts to make this easier to read and understand.

    There are several requirements I will list here, first:

    1) A way to use webtop - The HD, or lapdock, or have completed the webtop mod for the HDMI connection Here
    2) This is most important, and if you completed 1, then you most likely have done it, root your Atrix 2
    3) A USB SDcard reader. I have the Sandisk imagemagick, but any one you like will do
    4) Be able to ADB from your computer to your phone
    5) Not afraid of a little command line work :)

    Partition Instructions:
    Depending upon your operating system, free software is available so that you can partition and format your device without losing all the data on it.

    You will need to get one of the apps / iso images below, I recommend the live iso with gparted on it, just because I am a UNIX/ Linux guy by trade and choice, and this is what I use.

    Linux gparted live iso image:
    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

    Windows MiniTool Partition Wizard:
    http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-partition-manager.html

    You must create a parition on your SDcard for webtop, as this is is a full Operating System and takes a good bit of space. I made mine around 8GB on my 32GB card, and for the purpose of showing you here, I created a 4GB partition on a spare 16GB card I have. 1GB is the minimum, because that is what is already being used on the Atrix2 and I think it is about 80% full or so.

    The partition you create MUST be a primary partition and formated to ext3.

    For Windows here are some screen shots from another board that may help, with instructions:

    This is what the MiniTool Partition Wizard screen looks like when I have an 8 GB SD card inserted. As you can see, there's currently one single FAT32 partition present.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651143&d=1310342755

    When you right click on the partition, you'll see a Move/Resize option. That's the one you want to select for non-destructive partitioning.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651144&d=1310342755

    At that point, you can select how large you want your partition to be. You want to make sure that the "Unallocated Space Before" stays at 0.00 MB, so that the new partition will be the second one. In my case, I've opted to create a 4 GB partition as the second partition.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651145&d=1310342755

    Once that has been set up, right click on the Unallocated space, then select Create.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651146&d=1310342766

    We're not worried about the warning that Windows throws up, particularly since we know we'll be creating a partition that Windows can't read anyways. So just hit Yes.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651147&d=1310342766

    Create the second partition at the maximum size with the following settings:

    Create As: Primary
    File System: Ext3
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651148&d=1310342766

    After that's done, click on the Apply Changes button.
    http://xdaforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=651149&d=1310342766

    And now you're done! Put the card back into your Atrix2

    Now for gparted:

    If you are familiar with Linux and know how to use gparted, just resize your FAT32 partition to whatever size you want, then create a partition at least 1GB in size (I recommend 4GB), and make it an EXT3.

    Now for the rest that are using the iso here is some info and screen prints:

    Launch gparted:
    Here is a screen print of my desktop with gparted running:
    picture.php


    Now in the upper right corner there is a little drop down that has something like /dev/sda in it, change this to your SDcard, mine was /dev/sdc.

    Next right click on the partition in the middle of the screen, it should be surrounded in green, then click Resize/Move:
    picture.php


    Then when the next screen comes up, drag the arrow from the left to the middle of the screen to resize the partition, to the size you want, this is in MegaBytes:
    picture.php


    Now will have one partition that is ready to resize, and it should look like this, you will click on the "Apply all Operations button":
    picture.php


    Then a little window with the percentage will show up and tell you when it is complete, just click the close button when it finishes.

    Next you will right click on the unallocated part of the SDcard and click new:
    picture.php


    Then you will tell it how big in new size box, I let it do the whole thing at 4GB, then select ext3 in the File system drop down menu:
    picture.php


    Then after you click add in the last screen, you will click the "Apply all Operations button" Again:
    picture.php


    Now it will show the percentage window again, and when it is complete, click the close button.

    Done! Now it should look like this:
    picture.php


    Put your SDcard back into your phone now.

    Next will be how to copy over some patches and a script that will do a lot more, and a manual way for the brave.
    5
    Now that you can get into synaptic, go find a desktop you like and install it.

    I use gnome and I like it, but here is a list of KNOWN working apps, I am sure there are many more, just know some will not work at all.

    Working Programs:
    OpenOffice
    XFCE4
    Xchat
    LxTerminal
    Transmission
    lxpanel
    rdesktop
    VLC Player (Video is choppy)
    Gnome-Panel
    Evolution Email
    Chrome-Browser

    Now that you have a desktop you want to run, lets set it up to start for you instead of that launcher at the bottom of the screen now.

    After installing your DE of choice thru apt-get or synaptic, navigate on your phone with Root File Explorer to /osh/usr/local/bin/ and open the file "start-oshwt-2.sh" in the text editor and you will be presented with something that looks like this:

    #! /bin/sh
    ### BEGIN INIT INFO
    # Provides: start_lxde2.sh
    # Required-Start:
    # Required-Stop:
    # Default-Start:
    # Default-Stop:
    # Short-Description: started by adas user at login
    ### END INIT INFO

    PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

    . /lib/lsb/init-functions
    export `fbcp_dsba`

    log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

    sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

    # start OSHWT 2 scripts
    sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
    sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
    sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
    sfalv -i "evbridge"
    webtop-wallpaper &
    evbridge &
    sfalv -i "window_switcher"
    system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
    sr-test avahi_start &


    # IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
    # xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
    # the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
    # the last connected keyboard.
    # There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
    # layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
    # evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
    # is assigned the right layout.
    setxkbmap 'us(android)'

    Note:
    I highlighted the section you are interested in in Blue.
    The sfalv -i "awn-autostart" command might also bin the file /osh/usr/local/bin/start-oshwt-1.sh

    From here, if you comment out the sfalv -i "awn-autostart", then add to the script sfalv -i "xfdesktop" and sfalv -i "xfce4-panel" if you installed xfce4 or whatever Desktop environment you installed. If you followed this, your script should look like this:

    #! /bin/sh
    ### BEGIN INIT INFO
    # Provides: start_lxde2.sh
    # Required-Start:
    # Required-Stop:
    # Default-Start:
    # Default-Stop:
    # Short-Description: started by adas user at login
    ### END INIT INFO

    PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

    . /lib/lsb/init-functions
    export `fbcp_dsba`

    log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

    sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

    # start OSHWT 2 scripts
    #sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
    sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
    sfalv -i "xfdesktop"
    sfalv -i "xfce4-panel"
    #sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
    #sfalv -i "evbridge"
    webtop-wallpaper &
    evbridge &
    sfalv -i "window_switcher"
    system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
    sr-test avahi_start &


    # IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
    # xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
    # the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
    # the last connected keyboard.
    # There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
    # layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
    # evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
    # is assigned the right layout.
    setxkbmap 'us(android)'

    picture.php
    5
    I want ubuntu at ICS LEAK 4.0.4 very much..because I`m in Russia, and I want to have a russian input keyboard.

    Be patient!

    I am working on getting ubuntu back for webtop for ICS... but the "Official" OTA has not even been released yet. I am working on things using the leak, but that is no guarantee... So, again just hang tight, I am working in the background to bring the ubuntu webtop back from the dead.
    4
    Ok, so now that we are partitioned we can do some real fun stuff, and by fun stuff I mean command line. :)

    I would make sure you are plugged into a power source when you are doing this part, becuase the script will run for a very long time, it is copying 1GB of data to your SDcard, and installing a patch that includes another 100 or so MB of needed programs.

    Go get this tarball


    IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU COPY THIS INTO /data/local ON YOUR PHONE


    Copy this to your system with:

    adb push webtop_unlock.tar /data/local

    Now connect to your phone with ADB


    adb shell
    su
    cd /data/local
    tar -xvf webtop_unlock.tar
    chmod 755 setup_webtop.sh
    sh ./setup_webtop.sh

    This will do a whole lot of things, like copy the webtop install to your SDcard, then patch it, so that you can run synaptic and a termial and disable the FACLs and MACLs that Motorola has implemented, so that it is not locked down anymore.

    ***Note: I only had a chance to run and test this script once, so if it is an issue please let me know nicely in a post here, or PM me, but please copy any errors or get a screen print if you can, so that I know what to fix. Please don't post a reply with it did not work, give me as much info as you can.

    After your phone reboots ADB into it again, and do this:
    su
    mount -o remount, rw /

    **take note that you must run the "mount -o remount, rw /" command anytime you reboot your phone because any programs you get thru apt-get or synaptic will error out during installation
    3
    Now that you have most of what you need Do this:

    Connect to webtop with whatever method you like, HD dock, or lapdock, or TV (you most likely have to have a bluetooth keyboard mouse to use your TV).

    Then when the webtop session starts:
    Ctrl+Alt+T

    picture.php



    When the Terminal launches type this at the command line and hit return
    sudo apt-get update

    From here, you can run "gksu synaptic" and use the password "test" to start installing various different programs and packages that are normally available on Ubuntu.

    picture.php


    Dependencies
    Take caution when modding Webtop because there are some dependencies that will break Webtop if they are upgraded such as anything ending in a .mot or anything resembling that.

    Credits
    Please thank [mbm] for fixing what Motorola took out, without him, none of this would be possible without his patch.

    Sogarth for being the pioneer of Webtop hacking.