Android Screencast - Control your phone from your PC (My Mobiler for Android)

Search This thread

incubus26jc

Inactive Recognized Developer
Feb 12, 2009
4,094
3,569
Illinois
Alright guys, I finally found a Java App that will actually control your phone from your pc. This is not complicated. Thanks to acid256 for this open source project.

If your looking to do screenshots, use the java screenshot program in this thread

Features
- Mouse and keyboard control FOR ROOTED DEVICES ONLY
- Landscape mode (right click)
- Video recording
- Basic file browser

INSTRUCTIONS
Download Android sdk. Place android-sdk-windows folder on root of your C:\
http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Download(skip login) and install JRE(JDK) 6
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/widget/jdk6.jsp

Download the attached java file, unzip it, and just run it.
Place it anywhere you want. It doesnt have to be in the sdk folder like the screenshot program.

Make sure your phone is plugged in for a minute or two.
If you cant get it to control, run the automount app or dual mount sd widget.

 

Attachments

  • androidscreencast.zip
    604 bytes · Views: 68,633
Last edited:

JM-PDA

Senior Member
Nov 11, 2008
479
58
Sacramento, CA
Incubus26jc,
You are GOOD ! ! ! !

I've been Googling for something like this since I switched 100% to Android from WinMo (used MyMoblier).

Downloaded and tested it.
Works great!

Thank you so much for a great find!
JM-PDA
 

inertone

Senior Member
May 9, 2009
399
0
Los Angeles
OH MY GOD(incubus26jc)!!
finally!!!

incubus....YOU ARE GOD!!

edit:
i cant install JRE(JDK) 6
i keep getting this error:

208zk3q.jpg


edit: i got it to work
i didnt have to install anything
i just put the file in the tools folder and it worked!
 
Last edited:

mrono

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2009
1,573
4
this would be lovely if adb worked for me, I haven't ever been able to get adb to work >.<

But still, nice work :)

edit: nvm got my adb to work, program works great, little laggy but still is great
 
Last edited:

cp0020

Senior Member
Sep 2, 2009
1,523
4
atlanta
Alright guys, I finally found a Java App that will actually control your phone from your pc. This is not complicated. Thanks to acid256 for this open source project.

If your looking to do screenshots, use the java screenshot program in this thread

Features
- Mouse and keyboard control FOR ROOTED DEVICES ONLY
- Landscape mode (right click)
- Video recording
- Basic file browser

INSTRUCTIONS
Download Android sdk. Place android-sdk-windows folder on root of your C:\
http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Download(skip login) and install JRE(JDK) 6
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/widget/jdk6.jsp

Download the attached java file, unzip it, and just run it.
Place it anywhere you want. It doesnt have to be in the sdk folder like the screenshot program.

Make sure your phone is plugged in for a minute or two.
If you cant get it to control, run the automount app or dual mount sd widget.

how were you able to mount your sdcard on the sense 2.1?????
 

DmK75

Senior Member
Feb 12, 2008
623
66
St. Petersburg
Have chances to work via WiFi?
Because USB data cannot connect on Polaris, only charging :(

------
SOLVED!
I found program PicMe, which make control via browser or standalone applet.
 
Last edited:

Vertig0

Senior Member
Mar 28, 2007
312
16
having problems connecting...

java.lang.RuntimeException: Timeout getting device list!
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.waitDeviceList(Main.java:86)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.initialize(Main.java:37)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.<init>(Main.java:25)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.main(Main.java:107)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.doLaunchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

tried automount still not working, any ideas?

TIA!
 

Nick m

New member
May 21, 2010
1
0
ok so first off ill admit i am not a developer. i am tech savy but more so with program use and windows interface. i have absolutely no experience with serious programing.

i have a Droid, firmware 2.1-update1.
it is a company phone, so i dont feel comfortable rooting my device.

will there ever be a way to run this program, or one like it, without rooting my phone?

or does anyone know of a way i can dowload my phone data into an emulator, it run my apps in real time, live as if it was my phone, and then a way to upload any information or changes made to apps/info back onto the phone itself.

please excuse my noobness. just trying to learn as i go
 

ericbond

Senior Member
Oct 15, 2009
89
6
Ottawa
having problems connecting...

java.lang.RuntimeException: Timeout getting device list!
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.waitDeviceList(Main.java:86)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.initialize(Main.java:37)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.<init>(Main.java:25)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.main(Main.java:107)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.doLaunchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

tried automount still not working, any ideas?

TIA!

im getting that same problem
 

Naemion

Senior Member
May 31, 2010
562
55
the guy above me mentioned rooting his device. I am assuming that he means getting root access to the system. How can this be achieved?
 

mrono

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2009
1,573
4
the guy above me mentioned rooting his device. I am assuming that he means getting root access to the system. How can this be achieved?

Rooting only needs to be done on phones that come with android my default, our phones are already rooted.

He may have been talking about unlocking the phone...
 

xport

Senior Member
Oct 30, 2006
262
29
java.lang.RuntimeException: Timeout getting device list!
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.waitDeviceList(Main.java:86)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.initialize(Main.java:37)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.<init>(Main.java:25)
at net.srcz.android.screencast.Main.main(Main.java:107)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.doLaunchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

im getting that same problem

same here, anybody have any ideas?

Win7, Warm Donut, latest kernel, SD Split Activated
 

daveedem

Member
Sep 12, 2007
6
0
works for me

many many thanks.. I used SOTI and My Mobilier on my WinMo phone... thanks for sharing.

EVO 4
Rooted
2.1 revision
 

Ibanez33

Senior Member
Mar 29, 2010
430
55
same here, anybody have any ideas?

Win7, Warm Donut, latest kernel, SD Split Activated

Have you got USB debugging enabled within the application menu on the phone?

I had the same error and thats what it was. I just updated the rom and by default it was unchecked...


Anyhow working well on OSX!! a little laggy..
 
Last edited:

marcuso

Member
Apr 25, 2010
45
7
This is great stuff ... ;-)

as it is java - is this supposed to work on mac as well ? (even if there is no "C drive" ;-)
 

Toadeh

Member
May 1, 2007
35
5
I've been using this for about 2 weeks now. The timeout issue is down to the service not starting to find the device.

Open a command prompt and navigate to the tools folder of your androidSDK download. type

Code:
adb.exe devices

after this, do it again, it should now pickup your device. Run the app and it should work fine.

I've created a batch file to start all this up when I log into my Win7 machine and it works fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: alienclone

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 6
    Alright guys, I finally found a Java App that will actually control your phone from your pc. This is not complicated. Thanks to acid256 for this open source project.

    If your looking to do screenshots, use the java screenshot program in this thread

    Features
    - Mouse and keyboard control FOR ROOTED DEVICES ONLY
    - Landscape mode (right click)
    - Video recording
    - Basic file browser

    INSTRUCTIONS
    Download Android sdk. Place android-sdk-windows folder on root of your C:\
    http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

    Download(skip login) and install JRE(JDK) 6
    http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/widget/jdk6.jsp

    Download the attached java file, unzip it, and just run it.
    Place it anywhere you want. It doesnt have to be in the sdk folder like the screenshot program.

    Make sure your phone is plugged in for a minute or two.
    If you cant get it to control, run the automount app or dual mount sd widget.

    2
    If you can see but not use keyboard nor mouse, try this:

    adb shell
    su
    chmod 777 /data/dalvik-cache
    cd /data/dalvik-cache
    chmod 777 ./*

    Credits to the one who found it.

    Working properly on Samsung Vibrant!!
    1
    I've been using this for about 2 weeks now. The timeout issue is down to the service not starting to find the device.

    Open a command prompt and navigate to the tools folder of your androidSDK download. type

    Code:
    adb.exe devices

    after this, do it again, it should now pickup your device. Run the app and it should work fine.

    I've created a batch file to start all this up when I log into my Win7 machine and it works fine.
    1
    For those having trouble, Edit: First batch didn't work as well as I had hoped
    Instead, go to a command line and run the following commands (from where ever you have adb saved):

    adb shell <press enter>
    su <press enter> After this step, check your phone to see that it is asking for super user permissions, or that there is a message that says that SU permissions are granted

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock2 /system <press enter>
    chmod 4755 /system/bin/sh <press enter>
    exit <press enter>

    I also have to run the command 'adb devices' ever time, so I created batch that does that every time, then starts the JNLP file (phone.7z)

    you will have to extract both files, and if your SDK is on another drive/location, just edit the batch (they are simple)

    Enjoy!!
    1
    as far as the power off situation - with winmo you could change the display timeout to 'always on when plugged in', but with android all i can recommend is going to settings>display>screen timeout and set it for 30 mins which is the max.

    Menu->Settings->Applications->Development->Stay Awake (Screen will never sleep while charging)