[Root] TwerkMyMoto 1.0 (no unlock root)

Search This thread

jcase

Retired Forum Mod / Senior Recognized Developer
Feb 20, 2010
6,308
15,761
Raleigh NC
Root exploit for Motorola Razr I (x86)

Source code:
https://github.com/CunningLogic/TwerkMyMoto

To use:
adb push su /data/local/tmp/
adb push rootme.sh /data/local/tmp/
adb push TwerkMyMoto.jar /data/local/tmp/
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
adb reboot
adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh


This includes SuperSu 1.65 su binary, the updated binary does not work on this device, no idea why (i don't have the device)
 

Attachments

  • TwerkMyMoto-1.0.zip
    88.5 KB · Views: 13,366

dagoban

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2012
303
165
Thanks a lot @jcase for this.

Again folks, this means no more BL unlock is needed to get root on our phones!
Works great on my phone (EU version)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rotkaeqpchen

FelipeBHZ

Senior Member
Jun 2, 2012
183
46
Belo Horizonte
Xiaomi Mi 8
Update (24th Nov 2013): IT'S Working! Tested on a Razr i (Brazilian) with Stock Retail SML29 ROM.

Tested root on Terminal Emulator. :D

------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Alexjrbr

grampsharry

Member
Mar 17, 2010
49
2
London
I know that :p
But I have unlocked my phone to root with the old method and i want to lock it back :(

Enviado de meu XT890 usando Tapatalk

this is a method by HSD Pilot

Relock your Bootloader

You'll need an complete JB (4.1.2) Fastboot File of your Region for doing that!

Copy the content of the [XT890] Re-lock Bootloader.zip into the extracted Fastboot File Folder

Relock your Bootloader - see last thread

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2398347

---------- Post added at 07:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 AM ----------

So will I need to unlock bootloader to install a recovery?
 
  • Like
Reactions: laurorual

laurorual

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2010
492
117
Brazil
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro
this is a method by HSD Pilot

Relock your Bootloader

You'll need an complete JB (4.1.2) Fastboot File of your Region for doing that!

Copy the content of the [XT890] Re-lock Bootloader.zip into the extracted Fastboot File Folder

Relock your Bootloader - see last thread

http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=2398347

---------- Post added at 07:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:18 AM ----------

So will I need to unlock bootloader to install a recovery?

If i lock my bootloader again, it will wipe my internal storage, right? Will I loose my current root? And more important, will that message saying that bootloader was unlocked be gone? If not, i have no reasons to re-lock it :p

Enviado de meu XT890 usando Tapatalk
 

jeppo

Member
Mar 2, 2006
28
5
Amazing!!! It works without unlocking the bootloader! :D
However, I had to replace the su binary with an older one (provided in the other rooting thread) and I'm currently using Superuser instead of SuperSu.
Your su was correctly copied to xbin but it was not working :(

Now I have removed unwanted system apps and installed Greenify without loosing the warranty. Win win!!! :cool:

Sent from my XT890
 

ciberbeb

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2010
108
36
Toulouse
My bootloader is still locked, can I use this and then install a custom recovery or unlocking is still needed for a custom recovery?
Thanks
 

FelipeBHZ

Senior Member
Jun 2, 2012
183
46
Belo Horizonte
Xiaomi Mi 8
My bootloader is still locked, can I use this and then install a custom recovery or unlocking is still needed for a custom recovery?
Thanks

Unfortunately to install custom recovery and custom ROMs is still necessary to unlock bootloader. But with ROOT and a little bit of time on Google, you can do very nice things with your Razr i (XT890) ! :)

Search for Xposed and GravityBox.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ciberbeb

ciberbeb

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2010
108
36
Toulouse
Unfortunately to install custom recovery and custom ROMs is still necessary to unlock bootloader. But with ROOT and a little bit of time on Google, you can do very nice things with your Razr i (XT890) ! :)

Search for Xposed and GravityBox.

Thanks for your answer.
I'm used to perform a nandroid backup before any modification, plus all the other benefits that come with a custom recovery... But I'll probably give it a try.

Sent from my XT890 using xda app-developers app
 

OrangeFlash81

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2013
104
10
Just to check, there's no wipe involved in this?

EDIT: No wipe, seems to work! Yay!

---------- Post added at 07:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 AM ----------

Actually, just testing this out, when I go into SuperSU it says that I need to update the SU binary. When I click 'Normal' (I don't have a cusotm recovery), it says almost instantly that the update failed. Any fix for this?

EDIT AGAIN: Wooooops, just seen that line in the OP that says I need 1.65. Fail moment!
 
Last edited:

FelipeBHZ

Senior Member
Jun 2, 2012
183
46
Belo Horizonte
Xiaomi Mi 8
Just to check, there's no wipe involved in this?

EDIT: No wipe, seems to work! Yay!

---------- Post added at 07:41 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 AM ----------

Actually, just testing this out, when I go into SuperSU it says that I need to update the SU binary. When I click 'Normal' (I don't have a cusotm recovery), it says almost instantly that the update failed. Any fix for this?

EDIT AGAIN: Wooooops, just seen that line in the OP that says I need 1.65. Fail moment!

Just DO NOT update SuperSU, you only have to keep it installed. It will be used to set permissions on apps and files. :D

Root working fine here! :D Stock ROM no BL Unlocked.
 

yostyle

Member
May 19, 2008
34
4
Guys i'm feeling bad for this, but i can't manage to do it via terminal emulator on my phone (I don't have PC access until weekend)
There's someone who can explain me step by step? D:
 

laurorual

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2010
492
117
Brazil
Xiaomi Poco X3 Pro
Guys i'm feeling bad for this, but i can't manage to do it via terminal emulator on my phone (I don't have PC access until weekend)
There's someone who can explain me step by step? D:

basically, the adb commands do the following:

- put su, rootme.sh and TwerkMyMoto.jar files into /data/local/tmp/
- change /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh permissions to 755
- run /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh script
- reboot
- run script again

i think if you can manage to do this in your phone, you can make it
but as jcase said, it tells you to execute it from adb for a reason
 
  • Like
Reactions: FelipeBHZ

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 56
    Root exploit for Motorola Razr I (x86)

    Source code:
    https://github.com/CunningLogic/TwerkMyMoto

    To use:
    adb push su /data/local/tmp/
    adb push rootme.sh /data/local/tmp/
    adb push TwerkMyMoto.jar /data/local/tmp/
    adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
    adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
    adb reboot
    adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh


    This includes SuperSu 1.65 su binary, the updated binary does not work on this device, no idea why (i don't have the device)
    3
    coould anyone tell me step by step what to do with the file in the first post to root my razr i im a bit of a noob...?

    1. Install RAZRi PC-drivers.
    2. Enable USB-Debugging in Developer-Options on Handy.
    3. Download ADB files (ADB is a comandline-tool like cmd.exe, google how to use)
    4. Extract "TwerkMyMoto.zip" (rootme.sh + SU + TwerkMyMoto.jar MUST be in same folder with ADB.exe)
    5. Connect your RAZRi to PC and run ADB.exe. Check if ADB shows Handy as "device".
    6. Follow the Steps "To use". (You have to copy and paste each line in the ADB-Window and execute it)

    To use:
    adb push su /data/local/tmp/
    adb push rootme.sh /data/local/tmp/
    adb push TwerkMyMoto.jar /data/local/tmp/
    adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
    adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
    adb reboot
    adb shell /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh
    3
    basically, the adb commands do the following:

    - put su, rootme.sh and TwerkMyMoto.jar files into /data/local/tmp/
    - change /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh permissions to 755
    - run /data/local/tmp/rootme.sh script
    - reboot
    - run script again

    i think if you can manage to do this in your phone, you can make it
    but as jcase said, it tells you to execute it from adb for a reason

    I'll wrap this into an one click app later if anyone wants to test drive it for me. It is possible from an app, just not any app (ie not a terminal emulator without some modification).
    1
    Thanks a lot @jcase for this.

    Again folks, this means no more BL unlock is needed to get root on our phones!
    Works great on my phone (EU version)
    1
    Thanks for the detailed explanation, it worked :laugh:.
    Will this also work after an update to KitKat (which hopefully will come as announced)?

    Nice, good work!
    But nobody knows if its working with KK.. Probably we need new SU file