Android Raw Capture Freedcam

Status
Not open for further replies.
Search This thread

defcomg

Senior Member
Dec 10, 2006
3,854
3,302
33
-6 gives 16-bit layers, Elle said that -m 40 seemed unnecessary given that the images didn't look noisy - I couldn't resist, so I went for 10 iterations on the -m.

Note that -4 = -6 (16 bits) -W (suppress lightening) -g 1 1 (linear gamma)

And -q 3 (AHD interpolation) is the default - which I had stuck in my head wasn't, so just leave that off.

So, I did -

dcraw -v -m 10 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 -6 -T IMAG0003-puppy.draw

Result, with no changes or edits -

14595880961_c4170bd9d4_b.jpg


Actual tiff - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2MPU5MqABTXbWNWdXBJcl9rQmM/edit?usp=sharing

And I believe that you'll find the above is the same as -

dcraw -v -m 10 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 -6 -T -H 2 IMAG0003-puppy.draw

Where -H is the highlight modifier.

PS - pretty sure that Granite is using the M8 cam, like me.

---------- Post added at 03:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:43 PM ----------

Here's a recap of the heavily processed photo from my earlier post, followed by the same using -

dcraw -v -m 10 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 -6 -T -H 2 IMAG0007.draw

14400826130_8503b52a4a_b.jpg


14412684440_846015c265_b.jpg


I think the additional sky detail makes it pretty obvious that Elle was only 100% right (thank you Elle!).

Here's the full tiff of the second one, no other processing done.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2MPU5MqABTXemRnWHJQdURReWM/edit?usp=sharing

Note - the building was shot with +1 EV because I'd thought from last week's trials it would need that. So, that's why it's a bit overexposed.

was bored lol did some editing
http://imgur.com/a/CtQ93
 
Last edited:

defcomg

Senior Member
Dec 10, 2006
3,854
3,302
33

Attachments

  • dcraw.c
    309.2 KB · Views: 13
  • Like
Reactions: EarlyMon

defcomg

Senior Member
Dec 10, 2006
3,854
3,302
33
Macro Sample

https://flic.kr/p/o1tGje

Turned out Good Did the usual -a option Then I was done processing in acr Went to color balance added some green to the shadows I always end up with green tint in highlights and magenta in shadows but color balance helps
 

4everAnoob

Senior Member
Oct 3, 2012
223
33
  • Like
Reactions: defcomg

MatteoB92

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2012
892
396
Bari
I Created this thread for anyone interested in Capturing raw on their Device it may not work on most but i will try get raw from as many devices as possible

Tested Devices:
LG G2 use Freedcam or Pm @OptimusRs
ZTE Nubia Z5Sn if stock search for modded stock cam theres a thread on xda
Xiaomi Mi3 use freedcam
HTC One M8 http://www.mediafire.com/download/fmspl93l8wps6f8/[GRGB][ZSL-OFF]NubiaCam1.0.30.apk | Stock Cam | http://www.mediafire.com/download/zrble36j8k1p9br/Camera2.apk
HTC One S http://www.mediafire.com/download/2jv2b6vtf1y3q49/OneSRaw.apk
LG Optimus 3D

These devices are mostly snapdragon devices

Basically selecting a different Picture Mode Getting the Bayer Sensor data then decoding using dcraw by dave coffin


Exynos Devices Testing out raw-save capture mode found in the libs

MediaTek Support Will add Later to freedcam as the Method of capture is different if you have a mediatek device leave a post like this
Mediatek
Then a copy of your build.prop or Model Name found in about in settings will add you device


Omap Picture format option should work by selecting raw try freedcam

Nvidia ?????????




dcraw cmd parameters
IMX135

Code:
dcraw -v -4 - q3 -T -m 15 -k 50 -H 5 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 *.draw |dcraw -v -4 - q3 -T -m 15 -k 50 -H 5 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 *.draw

HTC one ultra pixel

Code:
dcraw -v -4 - q1 -T -m 15 -H 5 -r 2.132583 1 1.480864 1 *.draw

compiling dcraw with mingw
Code:
gcc -o dcraw -O4 dcraw.c -lm -DNODEPS -DJGPP -l ws2_32

dcrawA.zip is for G2/Z5S/M8/One S
dcrawMi3 is for Xiaomi Mi3

FreedCam
Exynos may test using exynos raw switch
Tripod Mode is for nubia Devices Forces 1" exposure at Night using Negative ev And manual shutter control with Tripod mode on it forces the iso to go done from the default 400
Dear developer, also the I9505 is a Snapdragon (600) device, have you any plan to give us the possibility to shot photos in RAW?
 

defcomg

Senior Member
Dec 10, 2006
3,854
3,302
33
Dear developer, also the I9505 is a Snapdragon (600) device, have you any plan to give us the possibility to shot photos in RAW?

Samsung uses an external ISP chip due to there being two SOC on the different Variants in order to maintain same PQ, but with that said give this a try https://github.com/troop/FreeDCam/releases/tag/v2_1.1 if you see any other picture format on the list you maybe in luck being an s600 device it will most likely say raw instead of Bayer in the picture format list
 
  • Like
Reactions: MatteoB92

xk0niR

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2014
409
112
I am using a Galaxy S4 too and raw capture would be so great.
I tried the version you just posted but I could only see jpeg. The settings are buggy on the S4, hard to read. I am using AOSP ROM, I don't know if TW based would make a difference
 
  • Like
Reactions: MatteoB92

troopii

Senior Member
I am using a Galaxy S4 too and raw capture would be so great.
I tried the version you just posted but I could only see jpeg. The settings are buggy on the S4, hard to read. I am using AOSP ROM, I don't know if TW based would make a difference
can you post your cameraparameters?
they are printed to logcat when starting freedcam. or look for hardware info in playstore.
it should look like these params https://github.com/troop/FreeDCam/tree/master/Parameters
 

MatteoB92

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2012
892
396
Bari
Samsung uses an external ISP chip due to there being two SOC on the different Variants in order to maintain same PQ, but with that said give this a try https://github.com/troop/FreeDCam/releases/tag/v2_1.1 if you see any other picture format on the list you maybe in luck being an s600 device it will most likely say raw instead of Bayer in the picture format list
First of all, thanks for the answer mate!
I've tried V2 of the apk, and I can select RAW as format, but when I shoot the app FC..
 

MatteoB92

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2012
892
396
Bari
However, there is a comparison for I9505 between 4.4.2 stock camera on the left in JPG format heavy 4.7 MB, and Camera FV-5 PRO on the right in PNG (RAW format) heavy 13.17 MB : what do you think?
8f015d7e5962f1d9db3fd125b19a6d71.jpg
 

defcomg

Senior Member
Dec 10, 2006
3,854
3,302
33
However, there is a comparison for I9505 between 4.4.2 stock camera on the left in JPG format heavy 4.7 MB, and Camera FV-5 PRO on the right in PNG (RAW format) heavy 13.17 MB : what do you think?
8f015d7e5962f1d9db3fd125b19a6d71.jpg

Some Hectic Denoise going on, by the way by the way The PNG is not raw its just Processed Data With Less Compression
 

xk0niR

Senior Member
Jun 21, 2014
409
112
Can You Logcat the FC


not sure but I think is the driver https://github.com/jeboo/kernel_KK_i9505_NB8/blob/master/drivers/media/video/msm/sensors/jc_v4l2.c

I see some stuff about raw but it looks like it is enabled or can be enabled

Okay, so I tried this Version.
Using AOSP Rom I am unable to see RAW Capture.
Tested a Touchwiz Rom and I am able to select RAW and take a picture.
However the file is only 4b, so it seems not working properly
Capturing JPeG works just fine.

edit: Done using International Galaxy S4 (Snapdragon 600)
edit 2: I did not try Stock Samsung Rom though. Used a custom one with googy kernel, so it may be a kernel issue?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MatteoB92
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 30
    I Created this thread for anyone interested in Capturing raw on their Device it may not work on most but i will try get raw from as many devices as possible.

    SD SOC

    S600 <

    Install Freedcam Swipe Right > Picture Format Choose raw

    if device not list below attach raw sample in a post to add DCRaw support.

    S800+

    in Picture Format Same option submit sample so we can DNG Support.


    Most Snapdragon Devices have raw enabled in Picture Format.

    *Sony Devices seem to have raw disabled and removed from list with the exception of Xperia L perhaps devices released in the similar period have it too.

    *Samsung Seems to have raw in the Picture format List but somehow the data is intercepted maybe there is a workaround who knows .

    *HTC only M7 seems to be disabled .


    Omap4
    Seems only LG Optimus 3D Working

    To Capture on OMAP4 you have two Options either Picture format route or making a special folder where raws get dumped along with the usual jpeg capture.
    will add what to do later but it's in this thread if you wanna search it.

    Mediatek SOC

    If you can access engineering Menu you can capture raw

    the what to do part I will add later but it's also in this thread.


    Tested Devices
    ############ Bayer Raw + DNG Support #####
    Nubia NX503A
    LG G2
    LG G3
    Gionee Elife E7
    Xiaomi mi3
    Note 3 one Confirmed working
    Find 7
    One Plus one
    HTC One M8 Uncalibrated
    Lenovo K910
    XPERIA L
    One S
    One SV
    HTC Double Shoot
    THL 5000
    ALLVIEW

    EDIT 07/02/15

    ANY MEDIATEK DEVICE THAT HAS ACCESS TO ENGINEERING MODE

    ANY QUALCOMM DEVICE THAT HAS RAW/MIPI/QCOM IN PICTURE FORMAT LIST

    WITH THAT SAID EVERY SAMSUNG AND SONY DEVICE IS EXCLUDED BLAME IT ON SONY WELL XPERIA L IS THE UNIQUE CASE PERHAPS OTHER DEVICES RELEASED AT THE SAME TIME

    HTC ONE M7 STATUS unknown
    HTC ONE M8 RAW IS BROKEN IN LOLLIPOP





    FreedCam Releases
    https://github.com/troop/FreeDCam/releases/




    compiling dcraw with mingw
    Code:
    gcc -o dcraw -O4 dcraw.c -lm -DNODEPS -DJGPP -l ws2_32

    The binaries attached are outdated till I update second post you will find updated ones scattered all over the thread my bad.
    9
    Some Raw Info and Tuts

    http://freedcam.hol.es


    Freedcam Support Over Here

    Have issues on your device

    Create a device thread with Logcat
    8
    My Flickr Stream Contains some raws

    Thanks

    Troop - Freedcam
    Dave Coffin Dcraw
    François Simon's Color Matrix
    Mark Ginstburg Color Matrix
    6
    I'm here again : I follow perpetually the thread, and I try every app release when published.
    Still on Touchwiz, now my Samsung Galaxy S4 is able to shoot RAW.
    Here the CameraParameters https://www.dropbox.com/s/cm35i440erj1gxz/GT-I9505_CameraParameters.txt?dl=0
    & the logcat https://www.dropbox.com/s/0qhob54mlbhau6d/2015-02-02-15-26-40.txt?dl=0
    The problem is that the file saved weights 'only' 4.6MB https://www.dropbox.com/s/jfygac2pmqnn9dx/IMG_2015.02.02_15.27.08_raw.raw?dl=0
    Any idea mate?
    rename the raw to .jpg and you will see what it is. sorry no raw
    samsung has the same problem as always, we are not able to disable zsl

    /// EDIT
    FREEDCAM SUPPORT IS CLOSED here for me!
    i also removed all releases from github!
    why? its simple. freedcamhol.es got listed as mailware site. and to save you from such stuff i removed all binarys!
    and these are also my last words here. im out..........
    6
    sure i saw it but i didnt change something for mtk because i dont know whats wrong.

    something about the work process:
    reading a logcat with 500kb takes 15-20min until i have found the needed information or not.
    the s4/5 have a own camera wrapper like lg has for the g3. to get that implementet i had to rework (ALL!!!) menuitems. i did it in 5 hours...
    building raw therapee took me 8hours. (it was not a problem with the source but with my building env)
    and i did both on the same day....

    what i want to say is, im only one whos doing all that stuff and its timeexpensive.
    and im realy trying to get all that devices working with freedcam.
    but if you want to push me to a hurry, i get lazy and think why i should do this, i dont have that devices why should i care....

    im doing this in my free time...

    //missing libs for rt
    http://freedcam.hol.es/download/rt_libs_64.zip