Android on Gene [Wing Linux]

Search This thread

ankit360

Senior Member
Oct 29, 2008
1,055
71
Thane
Project aims to develop Linux and Android support for HTC Gene



How to Run It ?


  • Download Wing linux from http://sourceforge.net/projects/wing-linux/files/ .
  • Download file named wing-linux-xxxx-rootfs.cab and wing-linux-0.xxxx-gene.cab
  • make sure about having minimum 650MB free on ur memory card
  • Install the wing-linux-xxxx-rootfs.cab. It will be default installed on your storage card in folder /storage card/linux/ .
  • Install the wing-linux-0.xxxx-gene.cab.
  • Run WingLinux from Start menu.

    It will take lot of time(About 10 Minutes) for first time, but Voila! it works!!!

very much thanks to - darkstar62 and kshaurya
 
Last edited:

ramersonw

Senior Member
Sep 6, 2008
424
16
Hi Ankit,

You will need a lot of free time to port the Android for Gene. But let us to business. First, you must port a linux kernel for the Gene. This site has a kernel that you can use. This kernel is for the HTC Wizard but his architecture is similar to Gene, it can be used. You must map the gene GPIOS too. To do this you must use the Haret and Haret Console (see how here). When you have a kernel that works, you have the basis for Android.

Things you'll need:
- A PC running a Linux distribution (Ubuntu, Debian, ...);
- A Cross Compiler (OpenEmbedded, CodeSourcery's ARM Linux tool chain);
- Haret and Haret Console;
- A source code of a kernel for OMAP 850;
- Many cups of coffee :).

Recommended Reading:

http://www.handhelds.org/moin/moin.cgi/FrontPage
http://wiki.embeddedacademy.org/index.php/Linux_OMAP_course_page
http://www.muru.com/linux/omap/devices/
http://elinux.org/Android_on_OMAP


Happy coding.
 
Last edited:

Duron23

Retired Recognized Developer
Apr 21, 2008
702
16
42
Bangalore, IN
I will like to join into the effort of porting linux/android to GENE as it is going to open doors for our GENE to the entire new world of open source software.
 

crazy4tricks

Senior Member
Dec 20, 2008
142
48
Mumbai
Something More

Hi All,

check this out a lot of information Guide for porting, system requirements, drivers and other things :)

source setup guide
http://www.kandroid.org/android_pdk/
http://www.kandroid.org/android_pdk/source_setup_guide.html
http://source.android.com/download
http://elinux.org/Android_on_OMAP

Documentation
http://source.android.com/documentation/building-for-dream
http://source.android.com/documentation

I am updating my website with new posts and uploading "Android port for titan" for future reference.

hope we can get something new for Gene. :)
Important
I just come to know that gene's cpu (201 Mhz) too slow to run Android, but i think we have to take a chance.

Read http://groups.google.com/group/andr...p/android-internals/browse_frm/month/2008-04?

@ankit
friend if u want a beeta tester I will be available as I stay in Mumbai.
 
Last edited:

crazy4tricks

Senior Member
Dec 20, 2008
142
48
Mumbai
I am upset

I think Only me and ankit interested to port Android(Linux) on gene as these thread dont have any post from last 10 days......:(
 

ankit360

Senior Member
Oct 29, 2008
1,055
71
Thane
I think Only me and ankit interested to port Android(Linux) on gene as these thread dont have any post from last 10 days......:(

can is this possible to to boot directly from linux kernel if not there is no way to wast time becoz we don't have enough hardware to user android on ms kernel

currently i m working on EOL
 
Last edited:

crazy4tricks

Senior Member
Dec 20, 2008
142
48
Mumbai
Gene can boot with linux

can is this possible to to boot directly from linux kernel if not there is no way to wast time becoz we don't have enough hardware to user android on ms kernel

currently i m working on EOL

Dear Ankit,

Gene can boot up with Linux, but i am not sure that we will gate full functionality, I had read some where the procedure to boot directly from linux, I remember that was for HTC Kaiser but unfortunately forgot to bookmark that site, I will search again and will update you.

I am sure we can get a new operating system for gene :)
 

ankit360

Senior Member
Oct 29, 2008
1,055
71
Thane
Dear Ankit,

Gene can boot up with Linux, but i am not sure that we will gate full functionality, I had read some where the procedure to boot directly from linux, I remember that was for HTC Kaiser but unfortunately forgot to bookmark that site, I will search again and will update you.

I am sure we can get a new operating system for gene :)

hmm i think android is flavor of linux if linux boot then android also boot

Unless your phone is unlocked, edit the Makefile and replace the CARDID with your miniSD unique identifier, zeroing the first byte. Make sure MODEL matches your phone model as well. Build EOL:
can anybody tell me what is card id ? (id of sd memory card ) and how to know it :confused:
 
Feb 23, 2008
430
2
Dilli, Delhi
i tried this for a pen drive

I inserted my JetFlash into USB port, then using My Computer, I right-clicked for the disc properties and went to Hardware where I see my Pendrive maker is JetFlash and has a number XXXXXXX
 

crazy4tricks

Senior Member
Dec 20, 2008
142
48
Mumbai
Awating for Reply

What if we build a new kernal using config file.

I am not sure about it but if anyone have any idea please update me as soon as possible.
 

ramersonw

Senior Member
Sep 6, 2008
424
16
This is the hard part (at least for gene). We don't have a proper source kernel that works well on our devices. But if you want to try take a look here. This site have some source kernels that you can use for build to gene.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 1
    came over those previous errors but stuck at this

    while compiling kernel config...

    Code:
      CC      init/version.o
      LD      init/built-in.o
      LD      .tmp_vmlinux1
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    make: *** [.tmp_vmlinux1] Error 1

    any ideas guys...??
    1
    FYI...

    I was able to come over this error

    Code:
      CC      init/version.o
      LD      init/built-in.o
      LD      .tmp_vmlinux1
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    arm-none-linux-gnueabi-ld: no machine record defined
    make: *** [.tmp_vmlinux1] Error 1

    Editted the file "vmlinux.lds.S" in "arch/arm/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S"

    removed the last two line from the file ..lines with

    Code:
    ASSERT(.... , ...  CPU ...)
    ASSERT(.... , no machine record defined)
    )