[GPL] 1-Click Soft Root

Search This thread

MartinEve

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
226
15
MOD EDIT: Full Root is now available. Please see this for Full Root

[GUIDE] One Click How to Root the Wildfire with Unrevoked 3.21

Hi all,

As posted the other day, I have managed to get a temporary software-only root solution that will allow you to run some applications that require su. I am currently in discussion with some of the unrEVOked team to take this a step further and get the NAND protection defeated, clockworkmod etc. For now, though, I present an extremely simple, low risk, software root. Yes, it's not quite 1-click (it's 1-click once you've done the initial steps), but it's pretty easy.

Prerequisites:

You must have adb working.

Root instructions:

Step 1: Download and install Superuser.apk from the Market. ( http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=682828 )

Step 2: Download my SoftRoot package ( http://www.martineve.com/wildfiresoftrootoneclick/SoftRoot.apk )

Step 3: Execute from a command prompt in the directory where you downloaded SoftRoot.apk:

Windows:
adb install SoftRoot.apk

Linux:
adb install ./SoftRoot.apk

Step 4: Run the SoftRoot application that is now installed.

The application will now crash. Wait 2 seconds, close it and you are rooted.

You will need to re-perform stage 4, only, each time you reboot.

Source code (all GPL):

http://www.martineve.com/wildfiresoftrootoneclick/DoRoot.java
http://www.martineve.com/wildfiresoftrootoneclick/R.java
http://www.martineve.com/wildfiresoftrootoneclick/rootshell
http://www.martineve.com/wildfiresoftrootoneclick/exploid.c

To compile Java app, you will need to create a project that has su, rootshell and compiled exploid inside the resources/raw folder.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

raskall

Senior Member
Apr 3, 2007
281
57
Works great. Thank you.

Now I have access to paid apps easily via Market Enabler (v3.0.8). I've missed them. :)

Now I just hope Spotify will fix their playback issues og Wildfire (and Hero). THEN life will be good again. :)
 

warriorvibhu

Inactive Recognized Developer
Aug 28, 2007
1,522
395
Somewhere Amazing
HTC One (m7)
LG V10
Hi all,

I am currently in discussion with some of the unrEVOked team to take this a step further and get the NAND protection defeated, clockworkmod etc.To compile Java app, you will need to create a project that has su, rootshell and compiled exploid inside the resources/raw folder.

Hey Martin Awesome dude .. also where did u find contact info of unrevoked team.. I think Koush is here on xda.. it would be really nice if you can PM me ..
Thanks
 

kosac

Member
Aug 17, 2010
5
0
Hi, Martin awesome work.. its working superb on my

0.802, 1.14.405.2, VodafoneCZ

thx man! :cool:
 

chrisandchips

Member
Aug 17, 2010
11
0
Excellent work, thanks Martin! So this means I don't have to follow anything in your other thread, I can just use this? Found it difficult to understand all that stuff!

Also, when downloading the Android SDK, as I'm about to, do I need to get the 2.1 component package as well, being as the Wildfire comes with 2.1 on it? Very new to the world of Android, so your help would be much appreciated!
 

Dark_Balor

Senior Member
Oct 22, 2008
94
62
normally you just need the adb not the whole SDK.

Simple to use :
  1. download SDK :http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html
  2. extract the zip(or tgz if Linux) where you want
  3. go to tools
  4. copy the SoftRoot.apk in this dir
  5. open a cmd prompt
  6. type adb install ./SoftRoot.apk
  7. Install the SuperUser.apk (http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=682828) or QR code :
    img.php
  8. Launch the SoftRoot app.
  9. Wait 10 sec
  10. Kill it
  11. SOFT-ROOTED

Easy no ? :)
 
Last edited:

leepriestenator

Retired Forum Moderator
Oct 25, 2006
754
36
Thread Stickied!

Great job MartinEve. Nice way to start off your experience here at XDA. Cheers
 
Last edited:

Dr_Death

Senior Member
Aug 5, 2010
96
4
Working on it; first job is, apparently, to build a clockworkmod recovery image from the stock rom...

all the best my friend, YOU ARE THE MAN :)

what's the method you are going to try to bypass the protection >> I'm interested in knowing the mechanism of the NAND protection, how it's work :D
 

MartinEve

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
226
15
Well, from the fact I was told to make a clockworkmod recovery image, it seems that the route is going to be to get a custom recovery image booting which will allow full access to the system and then flash from that.

TBH, this is where it starts to get risky ;/ If people wanted to start pooling together a disaster fund should the Bricking Gods not smile favourably on me, I'd be a lot happier! Haha!
 

MartinEve

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
226
15
Hey Martin..or anyone else..can you confirm whether this will work on HTC Legend ..??

I'm afraid I don't know about the Legend, but I see no reason why it should not provided that:

/system is mounted from /dev/block/mtdblock3
You are running 2.1 or 2.2

If you get an adb shell up an paste me the output of the mount command, I'll be able to tell you more clearly.
 

demolition23

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2009
577
79
Oiniades
MartinEve, I just copied the two .apk to my phone
1.Install with some explorer
2.Launch SoftRoot
3.Enjoy

no adb at all for me and worked
 

Piron

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2007
81
4
Szczecin
not work

I managed to do ROOT previous method. In this method, the system aborts SoftRoot. What could be the reason?
 

MartinEve

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
226
15
I managed to do ROOT previous method. In this method, the system aborts SoftRoot. What could be the reason?

When you say "the system aborts", I think you are referring to the fact the application crashes.

Which was in my original post.

It should still be rooted, despite the crash.
 

zabaknilesh

Senior Member
Dec 27, 2008
408
54
Mumbai
Excellent, glad to hear it :)

Perhaps I'll put a more concise set of instructions up at the start :)


Glad...I think its working!! i can now use set cpu...

Only did install these two apk's on HTC legend and its working...!!!

any others signs to confirm check that my device is rooted..please advice which is best apk to check my legend is rooted or not..?
 

MartinEve

Senior Member
Aug 1, 2010
226
15
Glad...I think its working!! i can now use set cpu...

Only did install these two apk's on HTC legend and its working...!!!

any others signs to confirm check that my device is rooted..please advice which is best apk to check my legend is rooted or not..?

Go to a terminal and type:

su

If the phone then prompts you to allow root, allow it and then type:

id

if it says uid=0 then you are root.

Let me know and I'll make a post in the Legend forum too.