[FIX] For international users with GPS issues

Search This thread

Whipon

Senior Member
Jun 16, 2010
238
40
Avellaneda
Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276

Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org

So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.
 

bl0wf1sh

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2011
236
25
Thanks man! did not even know that was the problem... will see if it works better now.
Though I have to say, editing with vi on the phone is a bit of a ***** ;) Need to remount the /system partition to edit this file, btw.
 

phobos512

Senior Member
Mar 1, 2009
881
138
Anyone try using the random server that ntp.org offers? As someone who travels frequently I don't want to have to change this every time.
 

zen kun

Senior Member
Jan 23, 2010
1,890
395
Berlin
xdaforums.com
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks
 
Last edited:

bl0wf1sh

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2011
236
25
there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
Edit:
off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks

My Atrix came w/o an SD card. Bought a class 4 16GB one. That gives me a total of 28GB for media (the remainder is for apps and system, fixed). I find 16GB has the better price point, 32GB is more than twice as expensive.

Note: there is a directory /mnt/sdcard/ that refers to the internal storage. If you pop in an actual miniSD card, it is mounted under /mnt/sdcard-ext/
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: alex_herrero

crnkoj

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2011
1,844
398
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
 

Whipon

Senior Member
Jun 16, 2010
238
40
Avellaneda
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/

Where are you located?. It helped me greatly here in Argentina.
Don't know why yours don't work.
 

danilo2k

Member
Jan 27, 2009
26
0
Hello ^^.
Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

Here's a copy paste of the original one:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
SUPL_PORT=7275
NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

"h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

So I changed it to:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276

Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

Code:
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org

So here's the final result:

Code:
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

Now my gps is working perfectly.

I see you got the Atrix working fine there! Cool
Excellent info! Thanks a lot!
 

bl0wf1sh

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2011
236
25
Hey, i tried this, after it was kinda slow to find gps outdoors. I still dont get any real gps lock indoors, which is rather disappointing since my almsot 3 years old nokia 6220 classic, found them immediately being in the same spot =/
you need to switch on wifi/mobile tower location. It worked like a charm after I switched that back on.
 

gonto

Member
Mar 16, 2011
37
0
I'm recieving the Atrix here in Argentina next week as well. How did u unlock it? With cellunlock.net? Didn't you have any WiFi problems?

BTW thanks for the GPS hack. I'll do it as soon as i get mine (after rooting it).
 

Whipon

Senior Member
Jun 16, 2010
238
40
Avellaneda
I'm recieving the Atrix here in Argentina next week as well. How did u unlock it? With cellunlock.net? Didn't you have any WiFi problems?

BTW thanks for the GPS hack. I'll do it as soon as i get mine (after rooting it).

I bought mine unlocked.
I heard lots of people unlocked theirs with cellunlock.
I don't have any bugs, besides the multitouch one.
 

lukexk

New member
Mar 21, 2011
3
0
Buenos Aires
I've got mine last week.
Unlocked with cellunlock with no problem. The only weird stuff is that they sent me a set of 3 numbers. I've unlocked the phone with the first number, no idea what's the other 2 numbers for.
I've got no problem with the GPS it locks pretty fast in outdoors.
But I have the annoying notification bug, the whole motoblur mail client works pretty bad, at least with exchange.
I'm not sure if the WiFi bug is happening to me, but I don't know how to test for it either.
Another thing I've noticed is that I have very low signal in HSDPA and it swtichs to EDGE a lot... dunno if it is a configuration issue or a carrier problem.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 12
    Hello ^^.
    Well, my Atrix arrived yesterday and I noticed the GPS took too long to get a lock.
    Also I tested it outside and couldn't get a lock with NDrive and with Google Maps it gave me a 900 meters accuracy.
    So I remembered the gps.conf file under system/etc

    Here's a copy paste of the original one:

    Code:
    SUPL_HOST=h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org
    SUPL_PORT=7275
    NTP_SERVER=north-america.pool.ntp.org
    XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
    XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
    XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

    "h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gppnetwork.org" is the AT&T A-GPS server. It only works with AT&T. I remember this from my Captivate days, hacking jupiter.xml.

    So I changed it to:

    Code:
    SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
    SUPL_PORT=7276

    Then we have the ntp server. File is configured to North America, wich doesn't apply to me because I'm in Argentina. I changed mine to South America as follows:

    Code:
    NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org

    So here's the final result:

    Code:
    SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
    SUPL_PORT=7276
    NTP_SERVER=south-america.pool.ntp.org
    XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
    XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
    XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin

    If you're not in South America, you can search for your respective ntp server HERE.

    Now my gps is working perfectly.
    1
    there is an app named FasterFix on market i used before and works pretty nice
    Edit:
    off topic but just to not open a brand new thread, im wondering if the atrix come with any sdcard what capacity and class? thanks

    My Atrix came w/o an SD card. Bought a class 4 16GB one. That gives me a total of 28GB for media (the remainder is for apps and system, fixed). I find 16GB has the better price point, 32GB is more than twice as expensive.

    Note: there is a directory /mnt/sdcard/ that refers to the internal storage. If you pop in an actual miniSD card, it is mounted under /mnt/sdcard-ext/
    1
    To understand the fix:
    When i modify the file, an application that donwloads agps data (like gps status f.e.) will save this data and from then and on i will have a decent gps fix without needing to be online (data mode,3G etc) every time i turn on the gps?

    Yes for few days. GPS satelites aren't in gestational orbit. After few days your downloaded GPS data is old/expired.

    ConstellationGPS.gif