FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey friends,

We have heard about the Tizen OS. It is yet another linux os for the mobiles & smartphones. It seems that they have released their source code over here:

SOURCE CODE

and the SDK as well...

Hope to we can see this on our beloved HD2 soon.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to contactwajeeh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th January 2012, 06:45 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag L'Aquila, Groningen, Madrid, Bruxelles
Thanks Meter: 1,524
 
Donate to Me
More
well it's not so new, it's the fusion between, Limo, Moblin, Maemo, Meego (and i think Bada too since Samsung is heading up the project).
I think it will became the main Samsung OS.
Samsung planned 41 billion dollars for R&D this year....
19th February 2013, 02:45 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Phone
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlano

well it's not so new, it's the fusion between, Limo, Moblin, Maemo, Meego (and i think Bada too since Samsung is heading up the project).
I think it will became the main Samsung OS.
Samsung planned 41 billion dollars for R&D this year....

They need to get Google off their back and run free.
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueStarEnt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2012, 02:01 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I am following this thread for the past one year and I have yet to see someone post even a partially working build of maemo, meego, Limo, or Tizen as they call it these days. So here is the suggestion to all the devs who can make a build for the HD2, please make a partially working build so that someone else can improve upon it.
thanks in advance.
25th January 2012, 08:13 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Merced
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
@s8isfi I have been following for a looking time also. I gave up a long time ago I don't even know why I'm on the forum.

Sent from my Schubert using XDA Windows Phone 7 App
13th October 2012, 08:29 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Thumbs up
Hi All,

I have downloaded the Tizen 1.0 ARM image from here and created new initrd.cpio and mounted all required filesystems (EXT4) to make Tizen boot from HD2. Used the kernel from here

Initially i was able to see some dialogs saying default depth should be 24 or 32. Then I configured xorg with framebuffer and with default depth as 16 as mentioned in Htc-Linux. I almost had it . Now i am stuck at black screen with a cursor displayed for long time .

I think I am missing something. This is the first time I am trying to do all this stuff. Need to go much more deep into it. I hope this should not take much time. I will try to come up with a positive status in this...

Cheers,
Diwakar

HTC HD2 - The Immortal
Last edited by diwa_sen; 13th October 2012 at 08:45 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to diwa_sen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th October 2012, 07:10 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
You could post the files for it here so others can contribute
15th October 2012, 09:34 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Chennai
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Sure. I will share those files asap.

Okay let me share some news on my second try on Tizen in HD2. After long struggle Tizen boot was successful till the Tizen startup animation showed up!!!

Now I could see a pop up error message (WOW! I can see a graphical content ) saying that the compositor must need 24 or 32 depth. But HD2 is configured Xorg and working fine only with 16bpp depth. So? Is it not possible to bring Tizen's UI with 16 bit depth?
Last edited by diwa_sen; 15th October 2012 at 09:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to diwa_sen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th October 2012, 05:55 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
What do you mean "it works fine only with 16bpp depth"? What are the consequences of 24 or 32bpp depth?
1st November 2012, 05:20 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Hope to see it work on our HD2

Sent from my HTC HD2 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to ljp1132719438 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes