Post Reply

*UPDATED* 6/26/2012 Motorola Razr/Maxx, Droid 4,HTC Rezound Will work on any GSM

OP droidxrooting

25th April 2012, 09:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
***UPDATE 6/26/2012***

Ok, not all the info that I got before was 100% correct. It looks like RAZR / MAXX is unlocked only for Global(GSM) use which is outside of USA. The Tmobile and ATT sims are not fully working as of right now.

We have couple amazing Devs which are working to resolve this issue.

Please PM me if you want me to update the OP.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

On the Bionic forum people found a way to activate disabled feature of couple 4g verizon phones to be able to use it on GSM networks.

Can someone test it please?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1297714

***UPDATE***

Follow this steps to make it work: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=118
Last edited by droidxrooting; 27th June 2012 at 03:28 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to droidxrooting For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 10:43 PM   |  #2  
cmay227's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Amazing...no one here has any interest in this? maybe you should have posted in the development section. This is great news if it gets working on the razr.
The Following User Says Thank You to cmay227 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 10:51 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I posted this earlier...as far as I know it's still a work in progress but very cool nonetheless.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX via XDA
26th April 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Greensboro, NC
Thanks Meter: 39
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Welp the Bionic can't do it for sure. Doesn't have a GSM radio... at all.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA
Running ICS leak fully rooted!
The Following User Says Thank You to aktrazer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 12:01 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 311
 
1,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Actually the Bionic does have a GSM radio.
The Razr, 4, Bionic all have the same Qualcomm global radio and a separate LTE radio.

The only thing preventing the Razr, Droid 4 or Bionic from connecting to GSM is the firmware.

The Droid 4 is scheduled for GSM upgrade.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tech_head For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 12:10 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Greensboro, NC
Thanks Meter: 39
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech_head

Actually the Bionic does have a GSM radio.
The Razr, 4, Bionic all have the same Qualcomm global radio and a separate LTE radio.

The only thing preventing the Razr, Droid 4 or Bionic from connecting to GSM is the firmware.

The Droid 4 is scheduled for GSM upgrade.

I stand corrected. Well played.

Sent from my DROID RAZR running ICS 4.0.3 fully rooted!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aktrazer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 05:10 AM   |  #7  
stkiswr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
2,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I was under the impression that we just needed the unlock code. Once we have it from say...att, then we put the sim in,enter the code and good to go...maybe its not that easy but on YouTube it looks pretty close lol.
27th April 2012, 05:46 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
As far as I know it's not that easy due to the fact that the GSM modem itself is disabled. Unless your talking about roaming onto the LTE network. Though ATT uses different frequencies.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX via XDA
27th April 2012, 03:40 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I was really surprised that people did not accept this news well. I was extremely happy to hear that we can use our phones with GSM providers since I am planing to travel soon.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
27th April 2012, 03:44 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Actually if you have read the whole thread in the OP link. People are successfully using their phones in Brazil.


Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes