Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

no service

OP dan281082

27th April 2012, 06:49 PM   |  #1  
dan281082's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
hi guys just purchased a desire s , it was a virgin media one, placed my vodafone sim in and it didnt ask for any unlock codes so presume its unlocked,

only issue is its saying no service.

its s on not rooted
any ideas
27th April 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #2  
suku_patel_22's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 767
 
2,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Did you put the back cover on?

Swyped from my Desire S waiting for Kernel 3, WAKE UP HTC
Sorry for the swypos....
The Following User Says Thank You to suku_patel_22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
enigmaamit's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Purgatory, Hades Cluster
Thanks Meter: 1,431
 
2,262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan281082

hi guys just purchased a desire s , it was a virgin media one, placed my vodafone sim in and it didnt ask for any unlock codes so presume its unlocked,

only issue is its saying no service.

its s on not rooted
any ideas

Have you set it to 3G only under network settings? Try toggling 2G only and see if it works.
The Following User Says Thank You to enigmaamit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2012, 07:57 AM   |  #4  
dan281082's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
solved

thanks guys was just be being a d==k and not making sre the connections were pressed on the black signal cable was loose!
17th May 2012, 03:08 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Hi guys,
I have same problem with my HTC Desire S. Got it from eBay.
It is not asking for any simlock codes so i'm takeing it to b simlock free.
But the problem is "no service"

So i did this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1429215

But still nothing, and yes, i have my back cover on
The only thing that makes me sad is, there is a little "x" where is should show reception.

I have checked it on http://www.numberingplans.com/?page=analysis&sub=imeinr
and its sayin that it is fine. Phone is not locked or anything.

Plz help
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes