How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nook Tablet stuck with no OS

OP AirplaneCrazy

28th April 2012, 10:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
So here is my issue. Last week I formated my ROM, so for a while it was stuck in internal flashed CWM 5.5.0.4 Than I flashed some restore file which fixed that issue.

However I was dumb enough to exit the internal CWM before flashing any Andoird OS zip meaning it has no Os inside. Since restart it gave me B&N factory reset option. I did. Than it gets stuck just past account log in info. No surprise because there is nothing on the EMMC.

Now I was able to boot CWM from SD, but when I try to install any zip file it says Aborted. Also there is never enough room left on my SD after I image the CWM image file.

So here is my question one. How can I actually have enough space to copy the Stock OS zip and flash it.

Most importantly I did have internal CWM 5.5.0.4 inside. Now when I hit B&N reset I am assuming it got wiped. Is there a way to access that internal CWM if not.
28th April 2012, 10:45 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,246
 
1,703 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirplaneCrazy

Now I was able to boot CWM from SD, but when I try to install any zip file it says Aborted. Also there is never enough room left on my SD after I image the CWM image file.

So here is my question one. How can I actually have enough space to copy the Stock OS zip and flash it.

You can resize the partition of the SD card (after you flash CWM on it) using a partition manager, that will give you full access to all of it, or format the SD card and put these files onto an SD card.
Last edited by lost101; 28th April 2012 at 10:48 PM.
29th April 2012, 01:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
So I able to boot on sd card, but when I try to flash anything this is the message I get. So once again I am stuck at best on CWM because it's not letting me install anything.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0053.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	252.8 KB
ID:	1029963  
29th April 2012, 05:31 AM   |  #4  
lavero.burgos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Guayaquil
Thanks Meter: 1,317
 
2,518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
That (status 0) error sometimes is solved by mounting /system manually.

~ Veronica
29th April 2012, 04:01 PM   |  #5  
Cubanluke88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 317
 
1,049 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Those two zip files will also do nothing. The former is the zip file to root, which will do nothing if you really have no stock os installed. The latter I'm not sure about but again I don't think its something that can be flashed without an OS already installed. Try flashing cm7 or another rom.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

edit: now that I've looked at my files on my computer, the latter is not a flashable zip file for clockworkmod. Its the cwm image for burning to sd card.

You gotta do some reading man if you're going to be flashing stuff; don't just try to flash any zip file you see.
Last edited by Cubanluke88; 29th April 2012 at 05:29 PM.
29th April 2012, 04:54 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Did you try bypassing the registration screen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAASnHPn4PM
29th April 2012, 08:40 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubanluke88

Those two zip files will also do nothing. The former is the zip file to root, which will do nothing if you really have no stock os installed. The latter I'm not sure about but again I don't think its something that can be flashed without an OS already installed. Try flashing cm7 or another rom.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

edit: now that I've looked at my files on my computer, the latter is not a flashable zip file for clockworkmod. Its the cwm image for burning to sd card.

You gotta do some reading man if you're going to be flashing stuff; don't just try to flash any zip file you see.

Yes that's what I thought. Problem is after I write the Boot.rmg for SD CWM 5.5.0.4 there isn't enough space left to put the Os.zip on the SD. Tried a CWM SD I used to flash my Nook Color which does leave me enough room, but with that Nook Tablet just boots up normalls
29th April 2012, 08:45 PM   |  #8  
Cubanluke88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 317
 
1,049 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirplaneCrazy

Tried a CWM SD I used to flash my Nook Color which does leave me enough room, but with that Nook Tablet just boots up normalls

DO NOT USE STUFF FROM OTHER DEVICES UNLESS IT IS STATED IT WILL WORK FOR YOUR DEVICE

Theres no harm here but going down that path is a very very bad idea. The devices are different.
30th April 2012, 05:52 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
So I finally managed to find the right SD CWM Boot that allows me to boot in CWM and leaves me enough room to put ROM zip and what not in the card after imaging.

So I tried flashing Nook Tablet stock os and here is the message I get.

E:Eoor in/sdcard/nookcolor_1_4_1_signed.zip
(Status 0)
Installation Abroted.

As a last resort I flashed CM9 which does finish the installation, but than when I restart it shows the black B&N screen saying device must reset and I am back to square one.

So now I am good with botting inside CWM. Just need help with successfully flashing the Nook Stock zip.

By the way me personally can't stand Nook Stock OS. I use a CM7 Mirage on my Nook Color. This is for a friend who I convinced to use Cyanogenmod on his Nook Tablet. He doesn't like CM, so I am trying to get him back to his stock os.
30th April 2012, 06:24 AM   |  #10  
Cubanluke88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 317
 
1,049 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirplaneCrazy


E:Eoor in/sdcard/nookcolor_1_4_1_signed.zip
(Status 0)
Installation Abroted.


This is for a nook tablet yes? Why are you using a nook color zip file?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes