FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi everyone,

So my TP is getting picked up sometime in the next 7 days for repairs (cracks and all) and I need to remove android. Couldn't find the novacom drivers online, and universal installer isn't working atm, so I got the SDK and now Device Manager (Windows 7) shows it as Palm Novacom (bootie). [Also, just noticed there is another "Unknown device" as well as the "Palm Novacom bootie" ?!?]

The problem is that when I tried to run the "novacom boot mem:// < ACMEUninstaller" command, nothing happens. I tried redownloading ACME, but still the same error. Anyone know what's up or how I can fix this.

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by vladwt; 24th July 2012 at 05:04 PM.
24th July 2012, 07:50 PM |#2  
colin_404's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladwt

Hi everyone,

So my TP is getting picked up sometime in the next 7 days for repairs (cracks and all) and I need to remove android. Couldn't find the novacom drivers online, and universal installer isn't working atm, so I got the SDK and now Device Manager (Windows 7) shows it as Palm Novacom (bootie). [Also, just noticed there is another "Unknown device" as well as the "Palm Novacom bootie" ?!?]

The problem is that when I tried to run the "novacom boot mem:// < ACMEUninstaller" command, nothing happens. I tried redownloading ACME, but still the same error. Anyone know what's up or how I can fix this.

Thanks in advance!

where did you put the acmeunistaller file?
24th July 2012, 08:02 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colin_404

where did you put the acmeunistaller file?

C:\Program Files\Palm, Inc\ACMEUninstaller

I tried running "novacom" on its own, but still nothing, it just creates a new row and accepts no input afterwards. The TP itself just stays in USB mode even after 10 mins or so...
24th July 2012, 08:50 PM |#4  
colin_404's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladwt

C:\Program Files\Palm, Inc\ACMEUninstaller

I tried running "novacom" on its own, but still nothing, it just creates a new row and accepts no input afterwards. The TP itself just stays in USB mode even after 10 mins or so...

So is the Touchpad in usb mode or recovery mode?
If u have a command window open inthe Palm, Inc directory where novacom application is and u type "novacom" u should at least
see a list of commands.
If not then u arent in the right place.
Last edited by colin_404; 24th July 2012 at 09:20 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to colin_404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 09:18 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colin_404

So is the Touchpad in usb mode or recovery mode?

It's in Recovery Mode (with the USB sign on the black screen); sorry that's what I meant. I'm thinking it could be a problem with the drivers, but Windows recognises it
24th July 2012, 09:32 PM |#6  
colin_404's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Never used the sdk but if its like android then the novacom application will be in a folder in the sdk.
so u will have to run the acmeuninstaller fron a window in that folder.
25th July 2012, 08:34 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Brighton
Thanks Meter: 470
 
More
If you have any copy off Webos doctor on your computer and have Java installed download Universalnovscominstaller and when or if you have it right click on the file then go down to open with and select Java(TM) Platform, the novacom installer will pop up click on install then click on select file then navigate to wherever you have Webos doctor ie desktop etc select it and hey presto the novacom drivers will be installed.

P.S do not download Webos doctor with windows explorer as for some reason it appears to mess it up , use chrome.
Last edited by sstar; 25th July 2012 at 08:38 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sstar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th July 2012, 01:55 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Cool Done and done!
Finally managed to get it done, after trying to do it on 2 Win7 PCs, went to an old XP laptop and tried on there.

If anyone gets stuck on this and finds this thread:

I used Universal Novacom Installer and installed Novacom from webOS Doctor 3.0.5, on an XP system. After that put ACMEUninstaller in Palm, Inc folder and ran the "novacom boot....." command and Android was gone!

Thank you all for the help, I'm so relieved after slaving away at this for over a day
The Following User Says Thank You to vladwt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes