5,599,616 Members 44,907 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Problems after Repair (Battery or Processor)

Tip us?
 
PcFish
Old
(Last edited by PcFish; 2nd December 2013 at 12:46 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 752
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Problems after Repair (Battery or Processor)

I sent my phone in for the purple camera problems and I got it back last week.
When I received it, it was updated to 4.3 Sense 5, most likely from the latest RUU.

Since I got my phone back, my battery has been horrendous and I noticed it had heat problems. I checked battery health and it said it's good, so I figured I just needed to re-calibrate my battery so I gave it a week of use. It's been the same horrible battery life.

I checked for wakelocks but there were no significant ones I haven't seen before. I've attached some screenshots of battery use. One thing that confuses me is that it shows Wifi running for 9 hours, even though I had it off for most of that. Is this normal?

To deal with the heat, I had to install a custom kernel and undervolt/underclock a bit. Before flashing, I noticed this thing is forcing itself to max frequency (1.7 GHz) which explains the heat. So the battery is draining because of this, presumably. I switched to intellidemand and lowered the clock a bit so it can last 12 hours (Doing nothing at all) instead, but that's still horrible compared to what I had before I sent it in.

Before I sent my phone in I typically had stock kernel while using insert coin or trick, Power Saver On, Auto-Sync Off, All Play Services/Google Now On and got 4-5 hours OST. Now I can barely get 2 hours.

Does anyone know where I can look to find the cause of my processor forcing itself to max frequency? I want to figure this out before I annoyingly have to send it in again. (Have to S-On/Re-Lock again =\)I was thinking maybe something shorted when they replaced the camera.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-02-05-07-44.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	2428293   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-01-10-35-44.png
Views:	267
Size:	222.1 KB
ID:	2428294  
 
nkk71
Old
#2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2095
Posts: 4,314
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by PcFish View Post
One thing that confuses me is that it shows Wifi running for 9 hours, even though I had it off for most of that. Is this normal?
Settings -> Wi-Fi -> Advanced (in the menu) -> uncheck scanning always available
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PcFish
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 752
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
Settings -> Wi-Fi -> Advanced (in the menu) -> uncheck scanning always available
Thanks, I guess it's normal then since I never turned that off before.
Now to figure out why the cpu is forcing max frequency all the time on stock kernel/firmware.
 
nkk71
Old
#4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2095
Posts: 4,314
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by PcFish View Post
Thanks, I guess it's normal then since I never turned that off before.
Now to figure out why the cpu is forcing max frequency all the time on stock kernel/firmware.
must be some rogue app, maybe best to factory reset, install (or restore) apps one by one.

if you're rooted use Titanium Backup, and check out Greenify for facebook and similar apps.
 
PcFish
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 752
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
must be some rogue app, maybe best to factory reset, install (or restore) apps one by one.

if you're rooted use Titanium Backup, and check out Greenify for facebook and similar apps.
Those screenshots were from after factory resetting. I'm considering RUUing back to 4.1.2 and flash my way back to 4.3 and see if that helps.
 
nkk71
Old
#6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2095
Posts: 4,314
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by PcFish View Post
Those screenshots were from after factory resetting. I'm considering RUUing back to 4.1.2 and flash my way back to 4.3 and see if that helps.
see how it goes with the wifi scanning off
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more