5,593,587 Members 37,871 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

D800 Will not send SMS! Only receives!

Tip us?
 
IrocD
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default D800 Will not send SMS! Only receives!

Hello everyone. I would like to thank anyone who helps in advance, and also to the devs who work so hard.

Anyhow, the problem first surfaced on CM11 with a recent nightly. All of a sudden, my SMSes would not send. So I tried different apps, hangouts, stock SMS, gosms, etc. Nothing works, the message just times out.

Next I tried restoring my known good working rooted stock nandroid. It all of a sudden would not send SMS with that either! Then I tried wiping my entire device, and doing a clean flash of only the 12/17 CM11 and the newest PA Gapps, and I did not restore anything. Still not sending!!! Please help, did I break my device??
 
kimtyson
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 523
Posts: 1,501
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: York, Pa
I doubt that you broke it so relax. Check your APN settings. Maybe restore original stock ROM and then reflash whatever you want. Before you wiped it all I would have tried Textra. Good luck.
Please use search before posting your question.
Be kind to the devs! Without them, XDA is just a bunch of jerks bickering.
 
xxxrichievxxx
Old
(Last edited by xxxrichievxxx; 17th December 2013 at 08:46 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 417
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Notting Hill, London
This happened to me about two days ago, I was installing and reinstalling Paranoid Android on my AT&T LG G2 to the point where somehow I was unable to send SMS.

The funny thing is I could receive Texts & Picture messages from others, and I could send Picture messages BUT NOT send texts or reply to texts.

I tried other 3rd party messaging apps - I even went back to stock but my text messages wouldn't send! I went to my local AT&T store and they replaced my SIM card for free and everything was normal, even now it's working just great.

I even tried imputing the SMSC number again but i'd get an update error message.

Trust me I've tried everything and I couldn't get it to work, but I went to the AT&T store and all they did was switch my SIM card for a new one and everything was back to normal.
The Following User Says Thank You to xxxrichievxxx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
IrocD
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxrichievxxx View Post
I even tried imputing the SMSC number again but i'd get an update error message.
Is my SMSC supposed to have those extra numbers at the end? I even had AIO "refresh/provision" me to no avail. And while I was on the line with her, she wanted me to remove the 3 extra numbers. But they persist! I have included a photo so you can see what I mean.

Further (and less importantly), is anyone else having an issue with KK where the '*#*#4636#*#*' menu takes forever to show up after entering the code?

Thanks again to anyone who's made suggestions!

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1387331517688.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	2460935  
 
xxxrichievxxx
Old
(Last edited by xxxrichievxxx; 18th December 2013 at 10:25 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 417
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Notting Hill, London
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrocD View Post
Is my SMSC supposed to have those extra numbers at the end? I even had AIO "refresh/provision" me to no avail. And while I was on the line with her, she wanted me to remove the 3 extra numbers. But they persist! I have included a photo so you can see what I mean.

Further (and less importantly), is anyone else having an issue with KK where the '*#*#4636#*#*' menu takes forever to show up after entering the code?

Thanks again to anyone who's made suggestions!

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I got that too but I still was unable to sent text messages. I also tried erasing the numbers and just adding the SMSC without any extra numbers and I would get an Update error.

Right now, this is what I have on my phone (it's fixed and no issues sending or receiving)

 
IrocD
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxrichievxxx View Post
I got that too but I still was unable to sent text messages. I also tried erasing the numbers and just adding the SMSC without any extra numbers and I would get an Update error.

Right now, this is what I have on my phone (it's fixed and no issues sending or receiving)

Thank you for showing me that. However, unless you are also on Aio, I don't think ours should be the same. I'm awaiting a new SIM from Aio to rule that out, so I will report back after I try the new SIM.

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
IrocD
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxrichievxxx View Post
Right now, this is what I have on my phone
One more thing... How do you get yours to stick on LTE/GSM/CDMA auto (PRL)? Whenever I set mine to that, it always reverts back to just LTE/GSM. Just wondering, I doubt it's related to my issue lol =)

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
xdafoundingmember
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 213
Join Date: Aug 2013
Yea I have experienced dead Sims before and this is the symptom

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
SysAdmNj
Old
#9  
SysAdmNj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 1,895
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdafoundingmember View Post
Yea I have experienced dead Sims before and this is the symptom

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Dead sims, would also mean no signal to make a call as well maybe?
 
xxxrichievxxx
Old
(Last edited by xxxrichievxxx; 17th December 2013 at 09:06 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 417
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Notting Hill, London
Quote:
Originally Posted by SysAdmNj View Post
Dead sims, would also mean no signal to make a call as well maybe?
Yes, calls did come in and I could make calls. Data worked as well (still connected to LTE). Everything worked except mysteriously texts wouldn't send.

I wonder if it's something to do with flashing ROMS so many times to the point where we don't let the ROM settle or maybe certain ROMS 'embed' some file that confuses the SIM card to cause it to malfunction?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...