5,597,501 Members 32,125 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Weird Recovery Problems?

Tip us?
 
gerard0986
Old
(Last edited by gerard0986; 18th December 2013 at 01:56 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Default [Q] Weird Recovery Problems?

So I was originally on MDL. AT&T S4 of course. Rooted it, installed custom ROMs, everything good. But recently it seems to have issues. Seems like Original Android ROMs just refuse to start up, like Beanstalk or ShoStock. Shows the Custom Lock boot screen thing, then just restarts to recovery. One of the few that worked fine and just booted normally was Alpha ROM from Android, now on the Tmobile forum I believe and Miui ROM.

So I gave up and tried restocking. Installed the MDL stock ROM again, motochopper, used ROM Manager to install Clockwork Recovery (Touch.), and then another problem. The recovery showed the android mascot laying down and that small red box. It seems to have defaulted to some Android Recovery thing with limited options. Rebooted and tried Clockwork Recovery normal edition this time. Same thing.

Honestly not sure what's wrong. Did I miss something and should have updated something or...?
 
scott14719
Old
#2  
scott14719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 785
Posts: 1,994
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerard0986 View Post
So I was originally on MDL. AT&T S4 of course. Rooted it, installed custom ROMs, everything good. But recently it seems to have issues. Seems like Original Android ROMs just refuse to start up like Beanstalk. Shows the Custom Lock boot screen thing, then just restarts to recovery. One of the few that worked fine and just booted normally was Alpha ROM from Android, now on the Tmobile forum I believe and Miui ROM.

So I gave up and tried restocking. Installed the MDL stock ROM again, motochopper, used ROM Manager to install Clockwork Recovery (Touch.), and then another problem. The recovery showed the android mascot laying down and that small red box. It seems to have defaulted to some Android Recovery thing with limited options. Rebooted and tried Clockwork Recovery normal edition this time. Same thing.

Honestly not sure what's wrong. Did I miss something and should have updated something or...?
Did you use LOKI?
.
.
SGH-I337 (AT&T) 32GB
P-ROM (1st Gen.), De-Odexed, AMDL
Rooted
Auto-LOKI OUDHS CWM


Make sure you read and understand the "PINNED" threads in the "General" and "Q & A" sections of the AT&T S4 forum BEFORE you ask for help. Use the forum's "search" function to find posts with additional information. You should not expect others to help you if you haven't tried to help yourself first. Also, read, understand, and follow the "XDA" rules.
 
gerard0986
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott14719 View Post
Did you use LOKI?
Yeah. Had a recovery with auto loki. But I believe a few of the ROMs I tried were lokied already too. Still didn't work.
 
gerard0986
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
I just tried using the stock recovery. Restocked, and went straight to recovery. No motochopper or anything.

Still shows the error droid and under the limited option'd "Android system recovery <3e>", it says, in yellow,

"# Manual Mode #"
"-- Applying Multi-CSC..."
"Applied the CSC-code : ATT"
"Successfully applied multi-CSC."

I'm guessing I broke something somehow...but I REALLY hope this is fixable. This recovery lets me reboot system, apply update from ADB, apply update from external storage, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, and apply update from cache.
 
gerard0986
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Restocked again and used the new CASUAL root. TWRP installed fine from it and works fine, but I tried Beanstalk again and still just reboots into recovery. Even flashed loki twice. What am I missing? Stuck at rooted stock for now.
 
gerard0986
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Bumping this up. Still seem unable to install other ROMs.
 
RockRatt
Old
#7  
RockRatt's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3383
Posts: 3,746
Join Date: Aug 2010
When you are getting back into recovery what recovery is showing? The TWRP recovery or 3e recovery? Kind of sounds like it is defaulting back to the 3e recovery.

Sent From My Spiderman,Ironman,Red,Dark Blue,Green, GreyedOut BadAss Themed I337
 
gerard0986
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRatt View Post
When you are getting back into recovery what recovery is showing? The TWRP recovery or 3e recovery? Kind of sounds like it is defaulting back to the 3e recovery.

Sent From My Spiderman,Ironman,Red,Dark Blue,Green, GreyedOut BadAss Themed I337
With the old Motochopper it defaulted to 3e recovery (But didn't before all of these problems.). With the new Java based one it loads TWRP normally again.
 
gerard0986
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
I switched to Task's AOKP just fine it seems. Maybe it was just the kernel. This problem is solved for now I guess.
 
gerard0986
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Victorville
Problem is back. I tried to restock and it seems to have worked, but now it just gets stuck at the AT&T globe logo right after the melody. It just freezes and starts to get hot.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more