How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Att G2 recovery..

OP Skizzy034

6th January 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #1  
Skizzy034's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
4,956 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)
6th January 2014, 05:29 AM   |  #2  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag worcester
Thanks Meter: 26
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Brother check if its not a chinese version! You might get scam.... by baying a phone even if people can changed the built.pro to change information to make it seing like an USA phone still behing the battery its all you need to make sure if that is removed don't buy it.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
6th January 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #3  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034

I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)

It seems so.
It matches with my device.
6th January 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 18
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034

I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)



D800 comes with D80010d version installed, then you get forced into getting 10o by AT&T.
If yours comes with 10d, make sure to root asap and then disable OTA, otherwise there are a lot of problems posted in both Root Your G2 thread and Install TWRP thread. There are people who got it rooted & recovery installed fairly problem-free, then there are others who ran into problems.

Knowing my luck, I decided to wait until there is a solid solution for TWRP on 10o.
Rooting is no problem as posted by the developer in the thread after ioroot15. If yours comes with 10o and if you root + install recovery, keep us posted.

When are you supposed to receive yours?
Last edited by hydeah; 6th January 2014 at 10:59 PM.
6th January 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #5  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
You should have quoted the OP, not mine, but anyway, just to let everyone know that LG does NOT force customer into getting new update. It is there and it is a customers' choice to run the update or NOT.
6th January 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 18
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by votinh

You should have quoted the OP, not mine, but anyway, just to let everyone know that LG does NOT force customer into getting new update. It is there and it is a customers' choice to run the update or NOT.


LG does not, but AT&T does. Since OP is buying one from AT&T, it is very likely it will come OTA pre-installed.
In my case, AT&T forced me, along with other (read reports) to take the OTA. We were given a notice of update being available, and knowing that it messes up certain things root-related, I did not take it, I delayed it as much as possible, until one reboot, it said "wait, updating...."..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes