Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,512 Members 41,744 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Do I need sim card installed to root?

Tip us?
 
Rick3232
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] Do I need sim card installed to root?

I have a simple question. Do I need to have a sim card installed while I root the HTC Vivid using the All in One Toolkit? I won't have a sim card for a few days and thought if it's OK, to root now. I wasn't sure if you need to have sim card installed for when your phone boots up immediately after the root? I was thinking that SuperUser might need it?

Sorry if this question is in the wrong area. I wanted to post the question where the Toolkit threads are but all of those threads are locked. Is the proper thing for me to do is contact the developer instead of posting here?


Thank you all kind sirs, (and ladies if applicable)
 
DrakeAlucard
Old
#2  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: holyoke
Phone root w/o sim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick3232 View Post
I have a simple question. Do I need to have a sim card installed while I root the HTC Vivid using the All in One Toolkit? I won't have a sim card for a few days and thought if it's OK, to root now. I wasn't sure if you need to have sim card installed for when your phone boots up immediately after the root? I was thinking that SuperUser might need it?

Sorry if this question is in the wrong area. I wanted to post the question where the Toolkit threads are but all of those threads are locked. Is the proper thing for me to do is contact the developer instead of posting here?


Thank you all kind sirs, (and ladies if applicable)
no you don't need a sim card to root your phone. i have done it before. the only thing is you won't have all the good data features like calling or texting unless you use an app. but other than that you can root without the sim card. hope this help
 
uniacidz
Old
#3  
uniacidz's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Agree, can root away






Sent via HTC Velocity + [HolicsROM v1.3] [SWEEP2WAKE]
 
ernestriderxx
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 33
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Info 2 Sim to Root

You do not need Sim to root. Use the Vivid Toolkit as a guide to root your device. Check Android Development
 
DrakeAlucard
Old
#5  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: holyoke
Default sim card toolkit to root

Quote:
Originally Posted by ernestriderxx View Post
You do not need Sim to root. Use the Vivid Toolkit as a guide to root your device. Check Android Development
yes you should use the toolkit to root your phone..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1498003
 
rignfool
Old
#6  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 512
Posts: 1,919
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrakeAlucard View Post
yes you should use the toolkit to root your phone..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1498003
I disagree...

You should learn something...

Because if you do... You might try to make something...

And then who knows what will happen from there...



Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
 
DrakeAlucard
Old
#7  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: holyoke
Default sim root

Quote:
Originally Posted by rignfool View Post
I disagree...

You should learn something...

Because if you do... You might try to make something...

And then who knows what will happen from there...



Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
what do you mean?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes