XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

[Q] Do I need sim card installed to root?

OP Rick3232

11th January 2014, 01:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I have a simple question. Do I need to have a sim card installed while I root the HTC Vivid using the All in One Toolkit? I won't have a sim card for a few days and thought if it's OK, to root now. I wasn't sure if you need to have sim card installed for when your phone boots up immediately after the root? I was thinking that SuperUser might need it?

Sorry if this question is in the wrong area. I wanted to post the question where the Toolkit threads are but all of those threads are locked. Is the proper thing for me to do is contact the developer instead of posting here?


Thank you all kind sirs, (and ladies if applicable)
12th January 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #2  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag holyoke
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Phone root w/o sim
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick3232

I have a simple question. Do I need to have a sim card installed while I root the HTC Vivid using the All in One Toolkit? I won't have a sim card for a few days and thought if it's OK, to root now. I wasn't sure if you need to have sim card installed for when your phone boots up immediately after the root? I was thinking that SuperUser might need it?

Sorry if this question is in the wrong area. I wanted to post the question where the Toolkit threads are but all of those threads are locked. Is the proper thing for me to do is contact the developer instead of posting here?


Thank you all kind sirs, (and ladies if applicable)

no you don't need a sim card to root your phone. i have done it before. the only thing is you won't have all the good data features like calling or texting unless you use an app. but other than that you can root without the sim card. hope this help
15th January 2014, 03:01 PM   |  #3  
uniacidz's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Agree, can root away






Sent via HTC Velocity + [HolicsROM v1.3] [SWEEP2WAKE]
26th January 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Somewhere in CA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Info 2 Sim to Root
You do not need Sim to root. Use the Vivid Toolkit as a guide to root your device. Check Android Development
28th January 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #5  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag holyoke
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
sim card toolkit to root
Quote:
Originally Posted by ernestriderxx

You do not need Sim to root. Use the Vivid Toolkit as a guide to root your device. Check Android Development

yes you should use the toolkit to root your phone..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1498003
28th January 2014, 03:51 AM   |  #6  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 600
 
2,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrakeAlucard

yes you should use the toolkit to root your phone..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1498003

I disagree...

You should learn something...

Because if you do... You might try to make something...

And then who knows what will happen from there...



Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 07:56 PM   |  #7  
DrakeAlucard's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag holyoke
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
sim root
Quote:
Originally Posted by rignfool

I disagree...

You should learn something...

Because if you do... You might try to make something...

And then who knows what will happen from there...



Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk

what do you mean?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes