Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 53,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HELP] htc one developer edition error 140

Tip us?
 
ksarius
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 256
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default [HELP] htc one developer edition error 140

Hello guys,

My wife tried to do the OTA update, but the phone had custom rom and the phone is now bricked.
It is relocked and s-off

I downloaded RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.16.exe (Developer Edition)
and RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.3.exe (Developer Edition)

However, none of them worked. It gives me error 140: bootloader version error. I know it has something about downgrading, but im not sure what to do.

its been 5 hours since Im trying to unbrick it, but unsuccessful so far.
I will greatly appreciate any solution.
here are some info of the phone.
version-bootloader: 1.55
version-baseband: 4A.20.3263.16
version-main: 3.22.1540.1
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0712000
cidnum: BS_US001

thank you.
 
ksarius
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 256
Join Date: Dec 2012
Nobody?

Enviado de meu HTC One usando Tapatalk
 
nkk71
Old
#3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,927
Posts: 5,901
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarius View Post
Hello guys,

My wife tried to do the OTA update, but the phone had custom rom and the phone is now bricked.
It is relocked and s-off

I downloaded RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.16.exe (Developer Edition)
and RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.3.exe (Developer Edition)

However, none of them worked. It gives me error 140: bootloader version error. I know it has something about downgrading, but im not sure what to do.

its been 5 hours since Im trying to unbrick it, but unsuccessful so far.
I will greatly appreciate any solution.
here are some info of the phone.
version-bootloader: 1.55
version-baseband: 4A.20.3263.16
version-main: 3.22.1540.1
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0712000
cidnum: BS_US001

thank you.
1- no need to be relocked/locked with S-Off

2- error 140? (i thought it would give error 155), but anyway, it's due hboot 1.55, you need to first & separately downgrade hboot to 1.44, check my guide in my signature in post #1 there's the hboot download link and instructions.

DO NOT GO S-ON!
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 20th January 2014 at 04:54 PM.)
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarius View Post
Hello guys,

My wife tried to do the OTA update, but the phone had custom rom and the phone is now bricked.
It is relocked and s-off

I downloaded RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.16.exe (Developer Edition)
and RUU_M7_UL_JB_50_BrightstarUS_WWE_1.29.1540.3.exe (Developer Edition)

However, none of them worked. It gives me error 140: bootloader version error. I know it has something about downgrading, but im not sure what to do.

its been 5 hours since Im trying to unbrick it, but unsuccessful so far.
I will greatly appreciate any solution.
here are some info of the phone.
version-bootloader: 1.55
version-baseband: 4A.20.3263.16
version-main: 3.22.1540.1
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0712000
cidnum: BS_US001

thank you.
there is a 3.22.1540.1 ruu on thcdev,com that use hboot 1.55 here

select the filter model to ''one'' and carrier to ''brightstar'' and it should be the fisrt option in the list
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ksarius
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 256
Join Date: Dec 2012
thanks guys!....actually i wrote it wrong. My phone is not s-off!......its s-on.

Anyway I will try what you guys said and ill report it back. thanks!
 
ksarius
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 256
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarius View Post
thanks guys!....actually i wrote it wrong. My phone is not s-off!......its s-on.

Anyway I will try what you guys said and ill report it back. thanks!
I am downloading the RUU 3.22.1540.1 right now and see if it works. If it doesnt, is it possible to s-off without a rom in my phone?
I tried revone, but i needed the phone to be working. How about rumrunner?

Because that way, I could downgrade and then finish the work.

Right now all I can do with the phone is get to bootloader and twrp recovery.

Thanks
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 20th January 2014 at 09:22 PM.)
#7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksarius View Post
I am downloading the RUU 3.22.1540.1 right now and see if it works. If it doesnt, is it possible to s-off without a rom in my phone?
I tried revone, but i needed the phone to be working. How about rumrunner?

Because that way, I could downgrade and then finish the work.

Right now all I can do with the phone is get to bootloader and twrp recovery.

Thanks
first try the ruu you are downloading

revone will only work with hboot 1.43 - 1.44. you have to use rumrunner to s-off hboot 1.55 with a rom like arhd 31.6 or cyanogenmod 10 (because of their unsecured kernel)

or you can also go back to stock with a guru reset rom which you can adb push to the device and install via custom recovery.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
ksarius
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 256
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
first try the ruu you are downloading

revone will only work with hboot 1.43 - 1.44. you have to use rumrunner to s-off hboot 1.55 with a rom like arhd 31.6 or cyanogenmod 10 (because of their unsecured kernel)

or you can also go back to stock with a guru reset rom which you can adb push to the device and install via custom recovery.

thanks! the RUU worked!....now leaving the phone stock
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes