FORUMS

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello,

I recently bricked my Z1 and just got it back from warranty repaired. It is a C6906 that they upgraded to 4.3 (.290) however it is branded to BELL and I wish to flash the unbranded generic so I don't have as much bloatware/fast updates.

Since I do not wish to brick the device again and go through this again and so I am looking for advice to do this in a way that is guaranteed. With flashtool if I flash "C6906 14.2.A.0.290 Generic CA 1276-7484_R2B" would I have any issues at all? Just load up Flashtool - select the ftf and just use the default settings and plug in the Z1 while holding down the volume button.
24th January 2014, 11:19 PM |#2  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
I used the latest Flashtool v0.9.13, connected to PC, let install windows the drivers, selected the Unbranded Stock ftf, wiped all data, appslog, cache, all the rest unchecked and I performed the flash. All fine and the phone working well. I don't know why you had problems or why you bricked the phone but there is no advice to give you because it's simply. So even if all it's clear no guarantee and it's up to you. I don't think is the FTF faulty.
24th January 2014, 11:22 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

I used the latest Flashtool v0.9.13, connected to PC, let install windows the drivers, selected the Unbranded Stock ftf, wiped all data, appslog, cache, all the rest unchecked and I performed the flash. All fine and the phone working well. I don't know why you had problems or why you bricked the phone but there is no advice to give you because it's simply. So even if all it's clear no guarantee and it's up to you. I don't think is the FTF faulty.

This is separate from how I bricked it (using custom rom), I did this previously with a older version and just not on .290 and I am wondering if there is any issues (IMEI etc) doing it .290 to .290, thats all. I just don't want to make a mistake.
24th January 2014, 11:28 PM |#4  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by magwart

This is separate from how I bricked it (using custom rom), I did this previously with a older version and just not on .290 and I am wondering if there is any issues (IMEI etc) doing it .290 to .290, thats all. I just don't want to make a mistake.

Ok, so you bricked the phone with custon rom, now I understand. In this case there is no any issues flashing .290 unbranded on .290 branded. IMEI is lost only when jumping .257 and downgrade directly to .534. It's more "safe" flash .290 on .290. Go flash now.
The Following User Says Thank You to eclyptos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2014, 11:47 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Ok, so you bricked the phone with custon rom, now I understand. In this case there is no any issues flashing .290 unbranded on .290 branded. IMEI is lost only when jumping .257 and downgrade directly to .534. It's more "safe" flash .290 on .290. Go flash now.

Thanks. I don't suppose there is any working root for 4.3 yet, is there for the C9606?

Edit: Successfully flashed. Thanks again.
Last edited by magwart; 25th January 2014 at 12:08 AM.
25th January 2014, 12:09 AM |#6  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 621
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by magwart

Thanks. I don't suppose there is any working root for 4.3 yet, is there for the C9606?

No direct root, like Vroot or 360, for .290 at the moment, just a method to get full root for Locked Bootladers. To do that you have to downgrade, root, install recovery then update to .290 again, a bit longer to get root on your phone, sure this method working for C6902/3 but should work for C6906 too, just check.
Last edited by eclyptos; 25th January 2014 at 12:11 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes