Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,332 Members 53,327 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Issues with Google ROM and Radio

Tip us?
 
SimonPalmieri
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default [Q] Issues with Google ROM and Radio

Hello,

I'm having some trouble getting a custom ROM to function properly. I've tried two different Google based ROMs and I no signal whatsoever. I have a friend who has the same phone, same provider and country and can get these ROMs working fine. He suggested that it is due to my older modem version and should consider updating it. I was told I could simply revert back to the stock Samsung ROM and do a Software Update and it should grab the new modem firmware but when I tried to do this, it told me my phone had been modified and I could not receive updates. How can I update the modem version to the newest without having to restart from an unrooted factory default phone?

Any suggestions and help are appreciated

Thanks
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,206
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonPalmieri View Post
Hello,

I'm having some trouble getting a custom ROM to function properly. I've tried two different Google based ROMs and I no signal whatsoever. I have a friend who has the same phone, same provider and country and can get these ROMs working fine. He suggested that it is due to my older modem version and should consider updating it. I was told I could simply revert back to the stock Samsung ROM and do a Software Update and it should grab the new modem firmware but when I tried to do this, it told me my phone had been modified and I could not receive updates. How can I update the modem version to the newest without having to restart from an unrooted factory default phone?

Any suggestions and help are appreciated

Thanks
What model do you have?
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
 
SimonPalmieri
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
What model do you have?
Sorry, I should've included this :\

I have the SGH-I337M, Canadian Rogers model.

Thanks
 
SimonPalmieri
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonPalmieri View Post
Sorry, I should've included this :\

I have the SGH-I337M, Canadian Rogers model.

Thanks
Okay, well here's some progress. I found a .tar.md5 file of the latest 4.3 Jelly Bean for the SGH-I337M.

After downloading the md5 file, I opened it with an archiver and I see the 'modem.bin'.

Can I install this modem binary file via the 'phone' option in ODIN to update my modem version to MK6?

Thanks
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,206
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonPalmieri View Post
Okay, well here's some progress. I found a .tar.md5 file of the latest 4.3 Jelly Bean for the SGH-I337M.

After downloading the md5 file, I opened it with an archiver and I see the 'modem.bin'.

Can I install this modem binary file via the 'phone' option in ODIN to update my modem version to MK6?

Thanks
It should work just fine, yes.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes