Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Did I brick my Droid RAZR?

OP agustincards14

29th January 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.
29th January 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14

Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.

I did this yesterday.

You will have to flash the Stock ROM back to the phone using RSD Lite or similar. Check sbf.droid-developers.org - Droid Razr for ROMS. I'm assuming you have a XT912.

If you have a XT910 look here RAZR XT910 Firmwares SuperThread (Jelly Bean) or sbf.droid-developers.org
29th January 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Sadiqabad
Thanks Meter: 9
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Before its battery go zero flash with rsd lite ur region firmware

Tapped from Razr
29th January 2014, 07:44 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14

Okay so this is what happened. I had been having problems with a ROM I had so I wanted to try out a new one. The new one wouldn't flash for some reason (correct slot and downloaded correctly yes), and I had already deleted my other ROM to make space for the new one. My "BACKUP"ROM I had under TWRP folder all of a sudden was not there anymore and now I had really no option but to use an ICS stock ROM. Instead, I tried to flash the new ROM onto the STOCK ROM slot and when I rebooted the little android malfunction icon popped up and I can't even access the SafeStrap recovery mode, only the simple one where you use the volume keys as controls. (Yes I'm a noob in need of help). So can somebody help me and tell me how to get ANY KIND OF ROM on my phone? lol Thank you guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcchots

I did this yesterday.

You will have to flash the Stock ROM back to the phone using RSD Lite or similar. Check sbf.droid-developers.org - Droid Razr for ROMS. I'm assuming you have a XT912.

If you have a XT910 look here RAZR XT910 Firmwares SuperThread (Jelly Bean) or sbf.droid-developers.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by faheemakbar18

Before its battery go zero flash with rsd lite ur region firmware

Tapped from Razr

uhhhh, and suppose my battery WERE to run out...0_0 ...then what?
29th January 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agustincards14

uhhhh, and suppose my battery WERE to run out...0_0 ...then what?

Big trouble I've heard.

Just plug it in to the wall charger. If it was off, you will see the large blue battery icon showing it's charging. When you go to fastboot it will also show you "Battery OK". I think that means you have enough charge to flash, but I can't confirm that.
29th January 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #6  
Crimson88's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
The big downside of flashing with RSD Lite is it will erase your internal memory.
29th January 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson88

The big downside of flashing with RSD Lite is it will erase your internal memory.

True.
Will removing the emstorage line in the XML file avoid that? I haven't used RSD Lite in ages, just fastboot with the commands from the XML. I just ignored flashing and erasing emstorage.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.4, brick, droid razr, help !, stock rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes