5,598,086 Members 41,744 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Error flashing "this package is for v500 devices; this is a wifi"

Tip us?
 
jebuswow
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Question Error flashing "this package is for v500 devices; this is a wifi"

Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance
 
Master SURGE
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow View Post
Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance

which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jebuswow
Old
(Last edited by jebuswow; 30th January 2014 at 12:25 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master SURGE View Post
which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again
That did the trick, thx a lot!



Okayy, now I got the Cyanogen bootloop bug. Sigh.
Starting over with the correct software...
 
jebuswow
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/
 
Master SURGE
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow View Post
Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/
did u do a factory reset after flashing the rom ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jebuswow
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Now I did a wipe before flashing and everything worked fine.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more