Post Reply

[Q] Missing the system update button

OP kclive

30th January 2014, 09:55 PM   |  #1  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 15
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Is anyone else missing the button to do a manual OTA update? I have searched and searched all over in my phone's settings and have not found it anywhere. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks
30th January 2014, 09:59 PM   |  #2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

Is anyone else missing the button to do a manual OTA update? I have searched and searched all over in my phone's settings and have not found it anywhere. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

look under settings general about phone
30th January 2014, 10:18 PM   |  #3  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 15
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

look under settings general about phone

I did. It isn't there. Could this be due to the fact it is rooted and running a custom rom?
30th January 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #4  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

I did. It isn't there. Could this be due to the fact it is rooted and running a custom rom?

yes more custom rom than root
Last edited by jerrycoffman45; 30th January 2014 at 10:22 PM.
30th January 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #5  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 15
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

yes more custom rom than root

After rebooting my phone I checked again and it is there, but now when I press on it to check it nothing happens. Not sure what is going on. I am running the Dynamic Rom 2.0 if that makes any difference
30th January 2014, 10:30 PM   |  #6  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

After rebooting my phone I checked again and it is there, but now when I press on it to check it nothing happens. Not sure what is going on. I am running the Dynamic Rom 2.0 if that makes any difference

well for one thing you dont need system update with a custom rom if you are trying to get a update from your carrier it is best to be completly stock
30th January 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #7  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Make sure that you wipe and restore your stock backup in safestrap recovery first

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:57 PM ----------

If you didn't make a back up you can use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2619005

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #8  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 15
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

Make sure that you wipe and restore your stock backup in safestrap recovery first

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:57 PM ----------

If you didn't make a back up you can use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2619005

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk


Thank you. I appreciate all the help. Downloading the files now.
30th January 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #9  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 675
 
2,075 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
No problem and good luck

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #10  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 15
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Will let you know how it goes.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes