Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,086 Members 54,263 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Internet Browser Apk

Tip us?
 
sumit0405
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: pune
Question [Q] Internet Browser Apk

Hi.
I have rooted Samsung Galaxy Ace GT5830, last year i uninstall default browser from my device,
now i want that browser back, i have .apk and .odex file for the internet.apk, i tried by pasting it to "/system/apk" and set permission to
"rwx", "rxx", "rxx" but still i am not able to run the default browser,
if u have solution pls post it.

Thanks.
 
mahithm
Old
(Last edited by mahithm; 31st January 2014 at 03:07 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 922
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumit0405 View Post
Hi.
I have rooted Samsung Galaxy Ace GT5830, last year i uninstall default browser from my device,
now i want that browser back, i have .apk and .odex file for the internet.apk, i tried by pasting it to "/system/apk" and set permission to
"rwx", "rxx", "rxx" but still i am not able to run the default browser,
if u have solution pls post it.

Thanks.
Firstly make sure the internet.apk is compatible to your os. I mean if you put the Internet.apk for ICS in Gingerbread it wouldn't work. Secondly you have to paste it in /system/app and not /system/apk. Thirdly the permission is rwx,r-x,--x. After this reboot you device. That ought to do it
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
 
sumit0405
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahithm View Post
Firstly make sure the internet.apk is compatible to your os. I mean if you put the Internet.apk for ICS in Gingerbread it wouldn't work. Secondly you have to paste it in /system/app and not /system/apk. Thirdly the permission is rwx,rx,rx. After this reboot you device. That ought to do it
its compatible with my os as i have taken backup before uninstalling,
and its was mistake, i pasted it in /system/app only not apk.
 
mahithm
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 328
Posts: 922
Join Date: Dec 2013
If you have already taken the backup before uninstalling, you just have to restore it. Its as simple as that. What kind of a back up did you take- Titanium Backup or CWM?
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes