Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,414 Members 53,565 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Just moved up to the s4

Tip us?
 
m4gkman
Old
#1  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Question [Q] Just moved up to the s4

hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?
 
riker147
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 897
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?
Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
m4gkman
Old
#3  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.
so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?
 
riker147
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 897
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?
With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
m4gkman
Old
#5  
m4gkman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 105
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.
so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?
 
riker147
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 897
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman View Post
so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?
If you're talking about reverting to an older build, forget it. It's impossible. All of your questions have been asked and answered many times. I suggest you do some research. This is a good place to start. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
root, root and unlock, vruemk2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more