Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,145 Members 42,208 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to remap menu key to multitasking

Tip us?
 
curiousmileo
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
Smile How to remap menu key to multitasking

So I am to impatient to wait for the 4.4 update where hopefully we will get the recent apps button to replace the menu key so I did what I could for now.

You have to be rooted and have a root file manager.
  1. open the file manger and go to system
  2. then to usr
  3. then to keylayout
  4. now open the Generic.kl
  5. scroll down to key 139
  6. open as a text file
  7. change from "MENU" to "APP_SWTICH"
  8. no "" needed
  9. save the file and reboot

Honestly i did it in the sec_e-pen.kl and sec_keyboard.kl and sec_touchscreen.kl just to be sure. I dont know if it is needed but i did anyway and have had no side affects.

Again if this has been posted before feel free to delete or move just i havent seen it so i thought others would want to know
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to curiousmileo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
clouds5
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Feb 2011
Sounds like a nice little tweak! But doesn't that cause problems with apps that don't have a menu button in the interface?
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S III | Stock rooted
Tablet: Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition Wifi | Stock rooted
 
curiousmileo
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clouds5 View Post
Sounds like a nice little tweak! But doesn't that cause problems with apps that don't have a menu button in the interface?
I suppose it would but so far most apps and games have the pull out menu or some kind of options thats easily accessible through the app itself. i guess since almost all of android expect samsung did away with the menu button most apps dont need you to have one
 
MarrowK
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Feb 2014
I love this option, but i wonder if its also possible to map the long press of the menu key to "menu", any ideas?
 
curiousmileo
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarrowK View Post
I love this option, but i wonder if its also possible to map the long press of the menu key to "menu", any ideas?
from what I read it is a lot more difficult to map a long press. but I will look into
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousmileo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
benni_1994
Old
#6  
benni_1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 423
Posts: 707
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Friedrichshafen
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarrowK View Post
I love this option, but i wonder if its also possible to map the long press of the menu key to "menu", any ideas?
Xposed Framework and GravityBox should be able to do that :P

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to benni_1994 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lokercy
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
I tried it on both my GS3 and P600, and here's the result
On GS3, modifying Generic.kl alone is enough to do the trick
Yet on P600 I have to modify all 3 files to make it

With GravityBox I managed to remap the long press as menu

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
curiousmileo
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokercy View Post
I tried it on both my GS3 and P600, and here's the result
On GS3, modifying Generic.kl alone is enough to do the trick
Yet on P600 I have to modify all 3 files to make it

With GravityBox I managed to remap the long press as menu

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
interesting. yea i guess something more needs to be done for the note.
 
engrshabir
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2014
Thumbs up thanks alot man, u solved my problem

i am using a local brand qmobile quadro z4,having jb 4.2.1 stock rom and by just modifying the one file, it worked, thanks alot
 
engrshabir
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2014
now i want to remap menu to long press menu key, or long press home, or long press back, can any one help,let it be difficult, doesnt matter
Tags
multitasking, recent apps, remap, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...